KC’s Playlist #9

TITLE : Angels

ARTIST : The XX

ALBUM : Coexist

I couldn’t believe that I’m hearing one of the most beautiful melancholic song ever made in the most inconvenient time. I was about to leave my car to meet my next client (which I was terribly late) when I heard this song playing on the radio. I couldn’t and wouldn’t leave my car! So yeah, I was three times late to my meeting. I waited till the DJ mention the name of the band who made me speechless in so much awe, sitting in my car, parked in the sidewalk along Kapitolyo in a hot, hot afternoon. Yes, it just so happen that the band is called The XX, an English indie pop group who plays very unique sound combining minimalist and electronic with a mixture of soulful guitar patterns and percussion.

The entire album focuses on heartbreak, loneliness and intimacy. “Light reflects from your shadow. It is more than I thought could exist. You move through the room like breathing was easy. If someone believed me… They would be as in love with you as I am. They would be in love, love, love.” It is a declaration of love born through a song, and sharing it to the world how magnificent the feeling is, or not. You move through the room like breathing was easy – these moments when you see that person as if you can’t care about anything at all except that this person would glance your way and sees you. “And everyday I am learning about you; The things that no one else sees. And the end comes too soon.. Like dreaming of angels and leaving without them.” There’s this deep connection that you can’t ignore which is pulling you closer and urging you to get to know that person more. Does it ever happen to you, wherein you put this hard wall around you because you don’t want to entertain someone into your life. Then this person comes along, that no matter how tall and strong your wall is, has managed to break through it.

“And with words unspoken; A silent devotion. I know you know what I mean. And the end is unknown but I think I’m ready as long as you’re with me.” So beautiful, right? For me, really, the best thing about falling in love is falling and taking the plunge. It’s like, knowing that things will never be the same, but you can’t wait to witness these changes because you knew you both are gonna be just fine. Sure it’s not gonna be easy, there are no guarantee that what you have will even last but you simply don’t care. You’re happy ending is unclear, but you knew deep in your heart, that you’ll take the plunge over and over again.

TITLE : Your Love Means Everything

ARTIST : Faultline feat. Chris Martin

ALBUM : Your Love Means Everything

I know people get confused about who really composed this song, whether Faultline or Coldplay, but honestly, who cares?! The song is brilliantly composed plus Chris Martin’s voice really made it top-notch. The beautiful lyrics, plus the calmness of the instruments used and the soothing voice of Chris Martin is just haunting! I love it and I can’t share with you my thoughts about this song 🙂
“I slipped away last night took me away from sight and the place I know. All crushed upon my skin this mess I put you in and the punch I threw.” I think the narrator talks about what he’s going through, some burden he wants to get rid off because it’s been weighing him down. So he must have done something or went somewhere to ease the weight. “It was a strange reaction for someone like you to remain on side. And in a chain reaction I was down and calling for a place to hide.” In times like this, sometimes it surprises you how many or few people would stay by your side and guides you through a certain challenge in life. In this case, the narrator is somewhat shocked because no matter how much he pushes the people around him away, still they stayed, cared for him, and offers a shelter for him to hide.
“I saw a broken arm. Machines will all break down in the way I know. Mended and all made clean I saw up on the screen all the stones I throw.” Things get broken, but they can also be fixed. Just like you can always find a solution for any problem; you may not see it, but it’s there. It’s just a matter of looking at things differently and seeing the bright side of it. You know, at the end of the day, the last people standing are the people who are not emotionally and physically tough or anything, hence the people who have a great support system around them, a support always urging him to push forward.

TITLE : We Got The World

ARTIST : Icona Pop

ALBUM : Icona Pop

“They say ‘You’re a freak’ when we’re having fun. Say ‘You must be high’ when we’re spreading love. But we’re just living life and we never stop. We got the world…” Now who wouldn’t fall in love with this weird Swedish DJ duo who never fails to keep you dancing with their electro house and indie pop music influences. Their hit I don’t care, I love it was extremely brutal song but definitely catchy 🙂
I wanna feature this song, We Got The World because it’s uplifting! After a long and tiring day from work or school, you just wanna listen to some songs which will make you feel inspired, young and energetic. For me, this single truly delivers a great message to burnt out people and who were always on the shade. “We can live fast, fly young. Everyday we celebrate just like we won. Only you and I, DIY. We found a way to live the dream until we die. Just come into my arms. I will get you love drunk. We’ll be burning bright. Us against the world tonight.” Life is too short to be focusing on the bad vibes around you, instead, you should go out there and celebrate life! There’s no need to wait for extravagant birthdays to honor your existence, everyday you wake up in the morning is a miracle and worth celebrating. Stop worrying about the little things, you know, and just live in the moment. Get love drunk and burn bright, it is us against the world tonight 🙂
“Aiming for the stars, Jupiter and Mars. We can ride a rocket and go so far.  Black shades, bright nights. Back to back we’ll do this ’til the end of time. You and I live, don’t learn. Everyday we fire it up and let it burn.” The moment you stopped living, is the moment you start worrying about random stuffs you aint need to. Does that make sense?? hahaha Bottom line is, it’s just life. You don’t have to take it seriously, seriously. 🙂
Cheers!
XOXO
KC

 

Reply here! ^_^

