Oly Ruiz: Metro’s Best in Capturing ‘I Do’s’

Oly Ruiz

“If you wanna do something, you have to do it with everything that you have, never do something half-heartedly. Focus on the people who support you and believe in yourself and don’t be bothered by the people who tell otherwise. Love it and commit to it and in the end, you’ll have no regrets but a feeling of great fulfillment. ” – Oly Ruiz

I almost forgot how it feels like to be a teenager once more and get kilig whenever I see my crush walking down the hallway. I felt that same kilig when Sir Oly agreed to have an interview for my February Issue of K-Chat Series. (I literally bugged him to get an exclusive such as this!) I couldn’t think of a better guest to invite and grace my February issue than Mr. Oly Ruiz, the Chief Executive Artist of MetroPhoto. He is the MetroMan who brought a new face and luxurious style to modern wedding photography. And I had the privilege (Oh god, oh god, oh god!) to get to know more about the Metro’s sought-after wedding photographer of this generation.

Just like any other girls all over the world, I daydream about wedding and pre-nup pictorials of my own, and that someday I’ll have great captured moments to remember them by. My cousin just recently got married and one of the things I learned from them, is that you should invest in good photographer and videographer. Yes, they may be a bit costly but they also serve as a good investment because these captured photos are your lifetime memories. Besides, you only get married once (uh, for me and for some people I guess) so make everything worth it and totally treasured.

Oly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceePhoto courtesy of MetroPhoto : Andrea and Mike Wedding in Sanctuario De San Antonio.

There are only few who made a name of their own in wedding industry here in the country. They are the best of the best and only a niche market can afford them. One of which is Oly Ruiz of Metrophoto. And it just so happened that Sir Oly and I have a few mutual friends 🙂 He has done the pre-nup shoot of my lovely neighbor and church-mate which was held in Singapore, and such a coincidence that he’s also from my hometown! What are the odds right? I finally got to meet him in person and see him in action during a scheduled pre-nup shoot in our showroom for my boss’ soon-to-be-married friends. I didn’t wasted any more minute and introduced myself, we even have a photo posted on my instagram account! Yeah, I’m a fangirl hehe Well, who wouldn’t? He is known for capturing romantic moments of wedding, engagement, and family portraits in the most stylish, creative and out of the norm way possible. Every snapshot is just breathtaking.

Oly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do'sOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceePhoto courtesy of MetroPhoto : Dimitra and Nicos Trash the Dress pictorial in Santorini, Greece.

Oly Ruiz is an engineering graduate and was then determined to pursue this profession, but fate seems to be full of jest as it soon lead him to a different career path, wedding photography. He was fascinated with the still-life photographs taken by his college bud, and he was immediately drawn into this hobby and sooner became his passion. “His work is just amazing and I was obsessed to be just as good. I didn’t have the professional background then, but I was determined so I started joining different forums and workshops.”

Oly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceePhoto courtesy of MetroPhoto : Rachel and Rolly Trash the Dress pictorial in Singapore.

Oly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceePhoto courtesy of MetroPhoto : Ollie and Cristina Wedding in Cabo San Juan, Mexico.

With little knowledge about photography and encouragement from his supporters, his hobby of just “aim-and-shoot” transformed into a full-pledged wedding photographer. “For me there is a natural progression to photography. Initially, one would shoot still-life, then landscapes then on to more complicated fields. But at whichever stage I was, I wanted to do something more, I wanted to capture something much complicated, something that I’ve never seen before.” So when Oly joined a workshop headed by The Dino Lara himself, one of the best and pioneer wedding photographers in the country, he got inspired to pursue wedding photography. And slowly but surely, he progressed in this craft and put up his own photography firm now called Metrophoto.

Oly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceePhoto courtesy of MetroPhoto : Mark and Marilyn Pre-Nup shoot in Coron, Palawan

For five short years since Metrophoto was established, the firm has been well-known and became incredibly viral not just in the wedding industry, but in social networks as well. Oly became known as the MetroMan and along with his talented crew, they’ve been traveling worldwide to capture his wedding subjects and the beautiful architecture around the world at their best. “Destination shoots are very unique and unforgettable yet very demanding in terms of time. If a certain place means something to our couple and that’s where they want to have their shoot, then we make sure that it’s going to be worth all the time and money to go there.” Oly shares. And this style clearly separates him with a lot from other photographers in town including doing what they call Trash the Dress, where the bride “trashes” her dress in a photoshoot after her wedding. Well, it makes sense since you only wear it once right? So why not make a creative pictorial out of it? 🙂

Oly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - Iamkaicee Oly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - Iamkaicee Oly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - Iamkaicee Oly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceePhoto courtesy of MetroPhoto : Kai and Grace Wedding in Shangri-La Boracay.

“One wedding is not just a snapshot; It’s the premium service that MetroPhoto can offer. That’s the promise of the brand.” – Oly Ruiz

MetroPhoto is widely known for its creative shots that somehow manages to defy gravity. Even capturing moments underwater seems to be easy! One of the breathtaking sessions was the underwater shoot in Batangas and talk about mind-blowing, the controversial pictorial that MetroPhoto ever created is the lesbian engagement of Vida and Arra.

Oly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceePhoto courtesy of MetroPhoto : Hot, hot, hot engagement pictorial of Arra and Vida.

Oly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - Iamkaicee

Photo courtesy of MetroPhoto : The Underwater Engagement pictorial of Chasz and Charles.

Oly admits that’s he’s a control-freak and perfectionist, it’s not all that bad really. He always makes it certain that his clients experience the best service his team can offer. So when it comes to giving service to his clients, the team by all means, makes sure that everything is done as perfect as possible. Oly says, “They pay premium for me, so they should get nothing but the best service from me and the company. That’s why I’m very hands-on with each and every shoot; each and every detail, from capturing to editing, the write ups, from the moment you interact with us, up to the moment we deliver your albums, all of this has to be an entirely perfect MetroPhoto experience.”

Oly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - Iamkaicee Oly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceePhoto courtesy of MetroPhoto : PBA Star Player Arwind Santon and his bride Ivette Gavieres say ‘I Do’ in Tagaytay City

From the country’s socialites to celebrities, and even couples around the world, MetroPhoto is in their top picks in documenting their precious weddings. It’s no brainer that sooner or later, Hollywood celebs will soon be lining up to set an appointment with Oly. Hmm.. Brad and Angelina maybe? 🙂 haha Now that’s promising!

Oly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceePhoto courtesy of MetroPhoto : Actress LJ Moreno (Ricafort) and PBA All -Star point guard Jimmy Alapag wedding in Laguna Beach, California.

Aside from his pure talents and keen eye for details, Oly’s dedication in giving great service is one of the characteristics anyone will admire. “If you wanna be successful in this kind of industry, it’s not just about taking great pictures. It’s actually just a small part of it. Giving utmost satisfaction to your clients is the key to everything.” Oly shares the main ingredient in MetroPhoto’s success. Oly also hires the best people who can deliver and match not just his expectations but the client’s as well. “Our clients always demand the best from us, so that’s the same thing we demand within ourselves (the group). If the passion to serve is not there, you won’t be able to take the pressure being a part of MetroPhoto. This is a hardcore business.” Oly explains in a confident stature.

Oly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceePhoto courtesy of MetroPhoto : Actor/TV Host John Estrada and Priscilla Meirelles wedding in Thunderbird Resort.

John_Priscilla_web031Oly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - IamkaiceeOly Ruiz - Metro's Best in Capturing I Do's - Iamkaicee

Photo courtesy of MetroPhoto : PBA Star Cager LA Tenorio tied the knot with his college sweetheart Chesca Bugia.

As much as I wanna put more photos in my post, it’s obvious that my page isn’t enough. So for more beeaauutiful photos by Oly Ruiz, check out his webpage at this link

http://www.mymetrophoto.com/

Cheers!

Xoxo,

KC

3 comments on “Oly Ruiz: Metro’s Best in Capturing ‘I Do’s’

  1. Beautiful and romantic … that first dress … my favorite – don’t have clue … who all those beautiful brides are – don’t care .. could get married only for that … dress, I think. *smile

Reply here! ^_^

