Because I needed a Breather

It’s not that I don’t pay respects to my deceased relatives and friends but it’s a loong weekend and I’m really, really stressed with work so I needed a breather and get out of town for the weekend. So I called up my friends, packed up our bikinis and hit the South Luzon Expressway to Lobo, Batangas πŸ™‚

A beautiful day πŸ™‚

We left Metro Manila at around 3:30 pm and we were quite nervous of the heavy traffic that might greet us on the way to Batangas because the whole town have planned their vacations to North or South bound. I have been anticipating this vacation since it’s my first after the event a month ago and I’m soooo dreading to leave the city and smell fresh air and be re-connected with nature and myself once more. We had complications while planning for this trip, in fact, we almost never gone through with it because of our busy schedules and I even considered going out of town on my own if ever my friends wouldn’t tag along, and my brother won’t join us because he’s such a kill joy (BOOO!!!!). How pathetic is that??!! hahahaha

Yeah! The tank is full πŸ™‚

The road to Lobo, Batangas

Lobo is about 150 plus kilometers from Manila and is located in the southern part of Batangas and around 3-4 hours of drive depending on traffic in SLEX. Batangas is known for its fine beaches along with its white sands and offers different tourist attractions. Since I live in the city, this is by far the nearest escape for me whenever I wanna shut out the noise and busy streets of Manila. It’s also near Tagaytay, where I love wasting petroleum just to feel the chill climate of the place. I have relatives who resides in Batangas, in fact last year, my brother and I spent the New Year’s Eve there and most probably we’ll be spending it there again this year since my cousin is getting married this December 31. I’m thrilled for them but I’m also stressed out because I’m starting a strict diet so I’d be able to fit into my gown haha

Anyway, I always enjoyed going to Batangas or any area in the south. Not only because of its beautiful scenery but the people out there is really hospitable and cheerful, plus I love hearing their batangenyo accent πŸ™‚ Lobo is a simple province so it’s pretty obvious that I’m a Manila-Girl because of the way I speak, dress and the blondness of my hair haha It’s not that awkward since they’re not really glaring, they are actually helpful especially when we were asking directions or when we were at the city market.

This is the rural market of Lobo, Batangas

I was taking pictures of the market scenery when these two ‘Ale’ caught my attention by saying “Ineng, what about our picture?” haha so there you go

Some of the pasalubongs or gifts on sale in the market

The busy street of their palengke

This is the common transportation used in the provinces, Tricycle

We passed by a zigzag road, some bridges and creeks and we couldn’t help but get out of the car and start taking photos haha

This is the facade of a certain Residential Hotel in Batangas that we passed by. It’s so western and very pretty!

This is the resort where we checked in. It’s called Almalin Resort

It was past 7 in the evening when we arrived at the resort. It was long drive but we’re kind proud because we didn’t get lost haha The resort we stayed is beautiful and very peaceful. It’s not a three-star hotel where everything will be served in front of you and the rest of the staff are at your disposal, hence, it’s like living a province life. Except, we chose to stay in the air-conditioned room instead of nipa-hut rooms haha The place reminds me of my province in Samar where our village is just a few steps from the shores of Pacific Ocean. Every now and then, you’ll hear the sea waves crashing the shores and you’ll feel the humid and salty breeze of the wind from the sea. It’s definitely a probinsya life and I loved every bit of it πŸ™‚

This is the house where we stayed in during our first night at the resort. It’s pretty neat and spacious with two queen size beds and one common rest room.

This view greets me in the morning. It’s not as clear and beautiful as Boracay beach, but I can say that itΒ  took my breath away.

The mountains surrounding Lobo beach

Don’t you just love waking up to this scenery?

This is what I really missed in the province; taking a nap in duyan (hammock) and being shaded by the coconut trees

My friends and I are not masters of the kitchen but we managed to cook this liempo quite well πŸ™‚

I’m quite pleased with myself with this shot haha

Of course a hot day wouldn’t be perfect without our alcomix buddies πŸ™‚

Look who joined us in our roadtrip? It’s puppy Panda! πŸ™‚

And we both says ‘Hi!’

The pool is not that large but I loved it.

I was trying to get a tan but the sun won’t take affect on me!

I’m missing the beach already

Okay I’m the fifth wheel in the group, it sucks I know but at least I have Panda hahaha

These are Ate Juliet and Kuya Marcos, a couple who are also the caretaker of the resort. They’re very accommodating and they took care of us all throughout our stay. See, this is why I love Batangenyos πŸ™‚

After our great vacation, we dropped by at the town’s parish whose patron is Archangel Michael, to light candles and pay respects to our loved ones who passed away.

I offered a prayer and candles to my aunt who passed away few years ago due to breast cancer. And to my grandparents who all died because of heart attack. I missed them… especially my Lola Dode’s silly curacha dance during parties πŸ™‚

Tagaytay Sunset

Our convoy cars to Tagaytay

After our beach-capade in Batangas, we drove to Tagaytay before heading home. Which is a bad idea because the goddamm traffic is crazy! If it weren’t for the famous Bulalo of Tagaytay, we wouldn’t even bother driving and be stuck in traffic for 2 hours just to taste it. But nevertheless, we had fun in the roadtrip, laughed our asses off and shared wonderful, frightening and stressful stories together. It’s too bad though that some of our friends weren’t able to tag along because they have other plans, hopefully when we go back to Almalin, the group will be complete. So how did you spent your all saint’s/soul’s day vacation?

Cheers!

Xoxo,

KC

http://www.almalinbeachresort.com/

3 comments on “Because I needed a Breather

Reply here! ^_^

