KC’s Playlist # 7

Title: I Would Do Anything For You

Artist: Foster the People

Album: Torches

I just can’t get enough of this trio indie pop band composed of Mark Foster, Cubbie Fink, and Mark Pontiu. I watched them perform live here in Manila last October 6 and it was totally a night to remember! The crowd is superb!!! Their performance is like an ecstasy!! hahaha I know it’s totally inappropriate of me to explain it that way, but that’s just the way it is! It’s really fun, and I loved all their songs (it’s really hard to pick a favorite because they’re all great, honestly!) but I wanted to feature this song for my playlist which I went gaga when they performed this live haha. Never wanna stand up for myself. Never wanna get in the way, I said it. I don’t know what the plan is but you can share with me. Cause I’ll be a listening ear to everything you say, I won’t turn away. And I’ll listen and open up my heart and I must say that I love you so.” This song for me, genuinely speaks about being grateful for having someone and being able to love and feel loved at the same time. Never wanna stand up for myself, meaning it’s not just him, it’s the both of them this time and this is exactly what you do when you love someone, you’re willing to open up to her even when it scares the shit out of you.

Oh la love, I’ve fallen in love
and it’s better this time than ever before
Oh la love, I’ve fallen in love
and it’s better this time than I’ve ever known

Would that be anymore sweeter?? Dammit!! hahaha Every day is a battle I face. Strange life I live but it’s what you decided. I give it all into your hands, do what you will with me.” The most bizarre thing about love is that, you know somewhere along the road you’d get crushed, you’d be hurt and you’d be crazy about it but you give it all up anyway. From the moment you let them in, you’re giving them the permission to love and hurt you, it’s like you’re handing them your heart and telling them ‘Go on. Do what you will with it, it’s all yours.’ And all you can do is hope that everything will turn out great and this love will last for long, and if you’re lucky enough, that person might love you back. “And I’ll smile when you speak. Remember those times I was hoping for something? And shaking my head from all I had done, but you never left me.” It’s a great feeling to be loved by that person and even when despite how little you think of yourself, or when you know you can’t be redeemed because of what you’ve done and yet she never left you and stood by your side through all the mischief in life. That’s what I love about this song, it makes me wanna believe in love again.

“Oh la love, I’ve fallen in love
and it’s better this time than ever before
Oh la love, I’ve fallen in love
and it’s better this time than I’ve ever known
Give it up for you
I would give it up for you
I’d do anything for you”

Title: It’s Time

Artist: Imagine Dragons

Album: Continued Silence

It’s amazing how a particular song speaks to you and make you relate to it in so many levels. I was driving to work one day, it’s sunny outside but I felt inexplicably gloomy on the inside and then I heard this song on the radio; I enjoyed listening to its melody and the clapping but what really pulled me into the song is its lyrics, like it’s talking directly at me, that it’s time. “So this is what you meant when you said that you were spent? And now it’s time to build from the bottom of the pit right to the top. Don’t hold back, packing my bags and giving the academy a rain check.” I read one of their interview via net and I learned that Dan Reynolds (The band’s front man) wrote this song during the time when he was in a dark place, when he dropped out of college and moved from town to town and was totally alone. But in every challenges that comes your way, you would always find the right path and be able to crawl your way back to the top.

“It’s time to begin, isn’t it?
I get a little bit bigger, but then,
I’ll admit, I’m just the same as I was
Now don’t you understand
That I’m never changing who I am?”

“So this is where you fell, and I am left to sell the path that heaven runs through miles of clouded hell,  right to the top. Don’t look back, turning to rags and give the commodities a rain check.” At some point, people change. We meet a lot of people and we get to discover things that made us widen our interests and perspectives. You’ll be surprised how one day you realized you don’t like the same thing anymore or before you’re disgusted by this one particular thing then all of a sudden it became your habit. No matter how old or young you are, you are still a subject of change because the world revolves around you, and you have to embrace it otherwise you’ll be stuck in where you are. But no matter where you go or what you do that defines your whole being right now, there will always be a part of your “once” self inside of you that can never be gone and will always be remembered that sets yourself apart from someone else. And you can’t force a person to change for you nor you can’t force yourself to become someone you’re not because you wanted to be with that person. Someday, someone will come along and accept you, your weirdness and your quirkiness wholeheartedly, and that someone will love everything about you that the wrong person is intimidated with. This song made me realize that, maybe I’m the kind of woman who doesn’t need to be tamed, and that I’m supposed to run wild until I find someone, just as wild, to run with. 🙂

Title: Kickstart

Artist: Example

Album: Won’t Go Quietly

I’ve been listening to this song for weeks!! Totally LSS or Last Song Syndrome! hahaha I can’t help it, it’s so catchy, very entertaining, upbeat and I love the meaning of this song! I’m not really a fan of electro-house genre but this song from British artist really got into me haha “You want me to come over I got an excuse. Might be holding your hand, but I’m holding it loose. Go to talk then we choke its like our necks in a noose. Avoid the obvious we should be facing the truth” The song talks about the reality of being in a relationship wherein, one moment you’d think that you’re not in the right place or you’re not with the right person and from time to time you felt like you wanted to get out, break free! So you wanted more and tried searching for the missing piece with different people (like the what the artist is trying to deliver in the music video) then all of a sudden, a realization would hit you that you don’t need to search for the missing pieces anymore because all the while, it’s just standing there in front of you:

“Start to think it could be fizzling out
Kinda shocked because I never really had any doubts
Look into your eyes imagine life with out ya

And the love kick starts again

It’s just authentically sincere! It’s like when you’re mind starts to wander and you’ll be lost with your own thoughts then you’d be shoved by your friend pulling you back into reality! You know what I mean?? Every relationship just needs a kickstart! Its the same old you the same old me. You get bored and I get cold feet. Get high get wandering eyes. Forget I’ve never ever had it so sweet. I realize what I got when I’m out of town. Cause deep down you’re my girl in a golden crown. My princess and I don’t wanna let you down. No, I don’t wanna let you down down down down.” It’s just so wicked! It’s normal to get confused and have cold feet every once in a while, that’s part of growing in a relationship. But rather than letting it rot and starting over with someone else, there’s this moment where you always find a way to come back into each others arms and realize that the other person is exactly who you want and need to be with, and the love and affection comes rushing in once more. So there, let the love kickstart again. 🙂

Title: Run

Artist: Matt Nathanson

Album: Modern Love

I first heard this song during a wedding and it was played as a soundtrack during the couple’s pre-nuptial video. And I knew I needed to get a copy of that song! hahaha Since then I became a fan of Matt Nathanson and I admire his pure talent in song-writing and playing guitars. To all the John Meyer fans please don’t hate me, but I find Nathanson much, much talented artist than Meyer! hahaha 🙂 I wanna watch you undress, I wanna watch you glow. Let your hair down all around, and cover us both. You come in a waves. We crash and we roll. You surround me, pull me, drown me then swallow me whole” It’s just so magnificent how he interprets the sexiness of the woman he’s with as they make love and be in each others arms. And not to mention, the cool voice of Jennifer Nettles as they sing as duet. It literally took my breath away.

“You turn, turn, turn, turning me on
Like a slow fire burn
I know that it’s wrong
Still I run, run, run, run right into you
Yeah, I run, run, run, run right into you”

I really do love this song!!! It’s full of passion and quite erotic but incredibly beautiful at the same time! It’s talks about two people who can’t get enough of each other, they may be having an affair since the lyrics mentioned ‘it’s wrong’ but see?? It may be wrong it felt so totally right! It’s like, no matter how you turn away from it, you’d always find yourself running back to his arms! Oh gosh… Oh oh oh You pull me in close and buckle my knees. I shake and I shiver just to feel you breathe. You trace my lines (You trace your lines) Stirring my soul. Shoot sparks at the heart of the world and I watch it explode? (I watch you yeah I watch you)” Whatever it is, it’s filled with heat and can’t be contained that they can’t seem to get away from it, so there’s nothing left but to give in..

“I’m amazing
When you’re beside me
I am so much more

And I feel your fingers
Pound like thunder
And I am so much more
I am so much more.”

Title: Epic Holiday

Artist: Angels and Airwaves

Album: Love

This song is very special to me, in fact I’m considering to have a line from this song tattooed on my skin one of these days haha “And that by design. It is full of holes. And it’s full of pain, lost, violent criminals. With a little fate and the worst of lies. With a love so deep, it’s war with endless fire inside. Go right back to her line.” I was once told that I should never take life so seriously, that I should start living it than analyzing it. And he’s right, but it simply sucks that I get what he mean but I’m clueless on how to start living the way he does. It’s in my nature to solve problems and make everything right. haaayyy now I’m over-analyzing things again. That’s what I love about this song and how Tom DeLonge incorporates the significance of living and loving in their album Love. “Every single day, every nine to five everybody works so hard and then we finally die. And there’s no remorse or the slightest sound. We’re forever cool with the way it all breaks up and down.” It’s the bittersweet of life; you wake up and go on with your daily routine of going to work or school and thinking you have everything figured out, that your future is laid in front of you and you do exactly what you’re expected to do. You study hard to have scholarship and get into a good school, then look for a decent job and get a good salary. Then you’d kill yourself day and night just to save for your future family and you forget to live, breathe and enjoy life because you take life soooo damn seriously. It’s just sad because when you turn 40 or 50 and you retire and that’s the time when you wanted to do the things you dream of but you’re too old to do so, and the experience won’t be the same. It’s just sad…

“Let’s start a riot
Nobody’s right, nobody’s wrong
Life’s just a game, it’s just one epic holiday
And whether all of this takes us so long
Take us away, it’s just one epic holiday.”

The lyrics is so inspiring, and telling us to live our lives to the fullest, and that we should celebrate every single day of our lives like everyday is a Holiday! And the Sunday rain like a lonely ghost. And the furthest point from here is right outside the door. Open up your eyes take a breath of will. And the sun is still alive, even though it’s hard to tell.”  So, go on, indulge into the simple joys that life has to offer. It doesn’t have to be extravagant or expensive, happiness can come to the form of hugs and kisses from your loved ones or enjoying an ice cream on your way to work. Or eating crispy pata at least once or twice a month! haha Pips, let’s have fun, laugh, get into trouble and make mistakes, because we’ve got only one chance to do it! 🙂
Cheers!
XOXO,
KC 🙂

One comment on “KC’s Playlist # 7

  1. What a fantastic job you have put into this post – all those artists are unknown to me – but I have to check them out on YouTube after your post. Thanks for all this fantastic information. Fantastic JOB!

Reply here! ^_^

