Song Feature: New York by Snow Patrol

Title: New York

Artist: Snow Patrol

Album: Fallen Empires

It’s amazing how every time I listen to any Snow Patrol track, I always have butterflies in my belly or I’d exclaim “OMG!!” then I would put my hand on my chest and close my eyes, or I’d be lost to a place non-existent to anyone but me. When a song really left a mark on me, I’d always remember when and where I first heard it, what the weather is outside, what I was doing or what I was feeling then. I guess that’s really how music influences me.. and I just love it 🙂

If you were here beside me, instead of in New York
If the curve of you was curved on me
I’d tell you that I loved you, before I even knew you
‘Cause I loved the simple thought of you

If our hearts are never broken and there’s no joy in the mending
There’s so much this hurt can teach us both,
And there’s distance and there’s silence, your words have never left me,
They’re the prayer that I say every day

The song speaks literally of the parting ways and the distance between him and this girl. She is somewhere in New York and the video shows he’s in a bar with lots of people and it should be fun but it’s not the same when you’re missing someone so bad. I love the part ‘if the curve of you was curved on me’ it’s insane! It’s a terrible feeling, it’s nerve-wracking whenever you’re missing someone and the saddest part is knowing that there’s nothing you can do about it. When someone left you, you always replay the last time you saw each other or the last words she said to you and somehow it became a mantra that you utter to yourself over and over again…

Come on, come out, come here, come here

The lone neon lights and the ache of the ocean
And the fire that was starting to spark
I miss it all, from the love to the lightning
And the lack of it snaps me in two

The refrain is just a continuous mantra of six words but it speaks so much volume! You just want them to be near you, to come back and just stay with you. And whether you admit it or not, the worst part is during the night when you’re out there partying like an animal with a lot of people whose faces are actually blur to you, yes you’re having fun, yes you meet a lot of people, and when you’re lucky you might even get a hook up, but at the end of the day that ache inside you just keeps on burning when you’re reminded of the places and time where you used to hold each other or simply admiring the view of the city lights. You miss everything about them, even the unending fights and the make-ups soon after and that emptiness just leaves you broken in two.

If you were here beside me, instead of in New York
In the arms you said you’d never leave
I’d tell you that it’s simple and it was only ever thus
There is nowhere else that I belong

Just give me a sign, there’s an end with a beginning
To the quiet chaos driving me back

Most of the time, you’re praying that this pain would end, that you would see the light again. Nobody wants to be lonely for the rest of their lives and we go through different process of acceptance, some of us can instantly get over it, while others took a little more time. But nonetheless, we’ll always get there, one step at a time.

7 comments on “Song Feature: New York by Snow Patrol

  1. Me like Snow Patrol … very much – this was new to me … when I lived in Belfast – and they visit their home town for a concert (free) the whole town was standing still. Amazing concert – only been to one.

Reply here! ^_^

