Song Feature: Shake it Out by Florence + The Machine

Title: Shake it out

Artist: Florence and The Machine

Album: Ceremonials

This English indie rock band with a combination of pop and soul, has been making great music since 2009. I first heard them in the Twilight soundtrack and I’ve been hooked since then! I learned more about their music when I met my previous boss because he’s such an indie freak and listens to their genre all day πŸ™‚ I have featured this band in some of my playlists before but this particular song really speaks to me especially with my situation right now..

“Regrets collect like old friends
Here to relive your darkest moments
I can see no way, I can see no way
And all of the ghouls come out to play”

I heard this song as I was driving home. I don’t know if it’s just me who asks signs and answers through songs. It’s crazy and weird and I know I shouldn’t entrust the solutions to my problems to fate but somehow it helps because from time to time you get tired of deciding for yourself. Okay, whatever! haha And then I heard it. If you’ve been following my blog posts, then you might be aware that I’m currently healing a broken heart. (damn, being broken hearted really sucks!!) It’s a shame how things ended between us but, I came to understand and accept the fact that not everything, whether it may be an event or a person or material, is at your disposal all the time. Just like in the books, sometimes you have to end this chapter and prepare for a sequel. Because with every drama in life, the show must always go on…

“And every demon wants his pound of flesh
But I like to keep some things to myself
I like to keep my issues strong
It’s always darkest before the dawn”

She talks about a demon weighing her down and has taken over her entire self but she wants to break free from it. And that’s exactly what I’m feeling right now. I just want to break free from all this crap weighing me down and to feel lighthearted once more. It’s true, the darkest and hardest moments are during the night, but just like any other day, when dawn comes near and you see the glint of sunshine in your window, you know a new day full of hope has greeted you once again…

And I’ve been a fool and I’ve been blind
I can never leave the past behind
I can see no way, I can see no way
I’m always dragging that horse around

Our love is pastured such a mournful sound
Tonight I’m gonna bury that horse in the ground
So I like to keep my issues strong
But it’s always darkest before the dawn”

It’s also about obsession or addiction: She became desperate to get a hold of something that wasn’t intended for her. And now she’s struggling to recover from it and move past beyond that impossible feeling of letting go and being free from it. You don’t give a damn even when you see yourself getting hurt and being ignorant in the process because you only see the price in front of you, nothing else matters. But when you’ve awoken up from this damn stupidity, you can’t help but laugh at yourself for creating that same mistake over and over again. But this time, you swear to yourself that it has got to stop and there’s nobody else who can help you but yourself.

“Shake it out, shake it out, ooh whoa
And it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back
So shake him off, oh whoa”

“‘Cause I am done with my graceless heart
So tonight I’m gonna cut it out and then restart
‘Cause I like to keep my issues strong
It’s always darkest before the dawn”

It’s refreshing after finally giving in to your realizations and start living for the better. That’s what I love about this video because you see her enjoying herself, dancing, breaking free and shaking it off from her back! It’s a great thing to feel that you were born again and you just want to dance all day and shake all your worries, fears and past, off your shoulders πŸ™‚

“And I’m damned if I do and I’m damned if I don’t
So here’s to drinks in the dark at the end of my road
And I’m ready to suffer and I’m ready to hope
It’s a shot in the dark and right at my throat
‘Cause looking for heaven, found the devil in me
Looking for heaven, for the devil in me
Well what the hell I’m gonna let it happen to me”

Letting go is not an easy thing to do. It takes a lot of courage to even realize that it’s not meant for you, that it’s over and it’s time to move on. You may have looked stupid and careless but at least you’ve tried your best, you’ve suffered and hoped enough and now it’s time to open a new chapter in your life and leave all the past behind. It’s not gonna be easy, it’s gonna be real hard. But you don’t have to hurry to get at the end of the road, because in every journey, you can always get there one step at a time.

Cheers! πŸ™‚

Xoxo,

KC

4 comments on “Song Feature: Shake it Out by Florence + The Machine

Reply here! ^_^

