Say my name

The other night I was in my favorite resto-bar with my girlfriends. I’m almost finished with my half a pack of cigars and a glass of beer in my hand, and with every puff and sip I’m thinking “at least I’ll be able to sleep tonight.” I favored tequila over beer because I like its warmth sensation as it goes down to my stomach. But I prefer drinking beer that night as it will help me fall asleep much faster. Despite their busy schedules, my girls always managed to make time for me to have a few drinks, catching up, and made me feel that I’m not alone. I’m loving them more because of that.

And as I sit there, I started observing my surroundings. A group of guys next to our table keeps on asking if they could borrow our lighter. It’s a bit annoying since I think there are five or six of them and none even brought a lighter for their own use? I mean, if you do smoke, you’d know that it’s a major necessity in smoking! Unless, their intention is to keep annoying us by their continuous asking for our lighter when there’s a sari-sari store nearby and some vendors where they can buy for their own. Seriously, it’s just 5 to 10 pesos only?!

I think around 5th or 6th time (can you imagine?) when a guy with glasses from that table approached us again (for the damn lighter) that I noticed every time he asked for the lighter, he’s always glancing my way. And when I looked at him, he has this silly grin on his face and I noticed his friends nudging their elbows with each other. And I was like “Oh please..” What’s more annoying is when he got back to his friends, he took a seat facing directly at me. It’s kinda awkward because I don’t feel at ease talking to my friends now, laughing, exclaiming, reacting whatsoever, knowing that a pair of eyes are staring directly at me. I started ignoring him and his friends who were whispering excitedly every time I accidentally glanced at them. After drinking my third bottle, I felt my bladder bloating up so I made my turn for the comfort room. It’s a unisex CR so men and ladies are lined up, waiting for their turn. I was silently examining my hair for split-ends (so sorry! I know it’s such a kikay move! haha) when that same guy with glasses came up behind me also waiting (pretending) for his turn and he asked me “Is this the comfort room?” You know what, times like this, the inner bully, bratinella and mean girl in me usually takes over. The door is right in front of us and there’s a big sign saying “CR” on the door. Seriously dude, can’t you read?

But I contained myself and instead I just nod and gave him a timid smile. After my turn, as I was washing my hands (yes people, hygiene is a must.) I’m not surprised that he didn’t went straight inside the comfort room for his turn or when he approached me again and told me a lot of things that I  honestly don’t understand most of them because it doesn’t make any sense, or I was a bit tipsy that moment. I’m not really sure hehe The bottom line is, he claims that his friend has asked him a favor to ask for my name or something like that. Again, the KC Bratinella would have replied “Aww… that’s so sweet of you. But the thing is, I would have given you my name if you’re the one asking for it. But since it’s your friend, tell him to be man enough to ask me himself.” But I erased that thought immediately and scolded myself: Gosh, KC it’s just your name. Give this amateur guy a break.

So, instead I just gave him my friend’s name and went back to our table 🙂

38 comments on “Say my name

  1. Why does we, girls, use our friends name when we are not interested in the guy ??? Done it myself as young, but realized that there is no need for that .. can use one of my middle names.

  2. Hehehe. Fun read!

    I have that too, I mean the bratinella who is struggling to come out but always shunned by the rational one. Tehehe. And btw, ayihiy! 😀

  3. I just want to say I am new to blogs and absolutely loved this blog. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You surely come with impressive posts. With thanks for revealing your web page.

  4. Hello, I just hopped over to your website thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might usually read, but I appreciated your views none the less. Thank you for making something well worth reading.

  5. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Extremely useful info specifically the remaining section 🙂 I handle such info much. I used to be seeking this certain info for a very long time. Thanks and good luck.

  6. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays..

  7. I do trust all of the ideas you have offered for your post. They are really convincing and can certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are too short for novices. Could you please lengthen them a little from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

  8. I just could not depart your web site before suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the usual info a person supply for your guests? Is gonna be again incessantly in order to check up on new posts

  9. Hello very cool website!! Man .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds also…I am glad to seek out so many helpful info here within the submit, we’d like work out more strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  10. I’m typically to running a blog and i actually admire your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your website and keep checking for brand spanking new information.

Reply here! ^_^

