Song Feature: In My Place by Coldplay

Song: In My Place

Artist: Coldplay

Album: A Rush of Blood to the Head

This British Alternative band is one of my favorites. The album was released on 1992 but for me it’s just timeless, especially with its great line up of tracks which includes “In My Place”, “The Scientist” (one of my favorites!), “Clocks” and ” and “God Put a Smile Upon Your Face.” Their album garnered 2.7 million copies sold in Britain and over 15 million worldwide. Whoa 🙂

I always enjoyed listening to their tracks especially when driving (thanks to my sister for buying their album) because it’s just relaxing. To tell you the truth, I’m a bit of a reckless driver hihihi but somehow whenever I listen to their album, I “most of the time” tend to stay on my lane hahaha

Their song “Fix you” and “The Scientist” are one of my ‘fave favorite’ tracks because they relate to me when I was going through a rough time back then. And now in a different situation, I can totally relate to this song..

“In my place, in my place
Were lines that I couldn’t change
I was lost, oh yeah”

“I was lost, I was lost
Crossed lines I shouldn’t have crossed
I was lost, oh yeah”

As I reflect on this song, for me it’s apologetic. The guy is remorseful about something he’s done and truly regrets about it. It seems like the incident has happened for a relatively period of time, and he was apologizing now that he’s more clear-headed which makes his apology more sincere and thoughtful. I guess what’s real important is that when you’re asking for forgiveness, you should first let things cool down for quite some time. Just so both your feelings have bit calmed down and both have thought about things more clearly. This song really taught me lot. And he doesn’t mind if he’ll be forgiven or not, as long as he has extended his intentions and regrets. He really screwed things up this time and he’s explaining that he didn’t gave consideration on what his actions would cause, and this time it caused him his lover because there’s a certain line that he has crossed and there are words he never should have said and there’s nothing he can do to take them back and now he feels lost and all alone..

“Yeah how long must you wait for it?
Yeah how long must you pay for it?
Yeah how long must you wait for it?
Oh for it”

The chorus seems like he’s talking to himself: “How long must I wait for your forgiveness? How long must I pay for the wrongs that I’ve done?”

“I was scared, I was scared
Tired and under prepared
But I wait for it”

“If you go, if you go
Leave me down here on my own
Then I’ll wait for you (yeah)”

He was scared because it never occurred to him what the outcome of his actions were, and that he lost and ruined a good relationship with this girl. And that he’s willing to do whatever it is needed to get her back and he’s willing to wait no matter how long until she is ready to forgive him.

This is my favorite part:

“Sing it, please, please, please
Come back and sing to me, to me, me 
Come on and sing it out, now, now
Come on and sing it out, to me, me
Come back and sing it.”

17 comments on “Song Feature: In My Place by Coldplay

  1. I just want to mention I am just new to weblog and definitely enjoyed this web page. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You actually have beneficial posts. Appreciate it for sharing your blog.

  2. I have got one suggestion for your website. It looks like at this time there are a couple of cascading stylesheet problems when launching a number of webpages within google chrome as well as opera. It is functioning okay in internet explorer. Probably you can double check that.

  3. I’m really inspired with your writing talents and also with the layout for your weblog. Is that this a paid topic or did you customize it your self? Either way stay up the excellent high quality writing, it is rare to peer a great weblog like this one today.

Reply here! ^_^

