KC Playlist #5

For this playlist, I decided to feature great artists who’ve been known for creating such wonderful music based on their personal heartaches. Well, my best friend is going through a tough time facing breakup and I figured this might help.

Title: Wide Awake

Artist: Katy Perry

Album: Single Release

I am such a fan. I wasn’t able to catch her perform live during her concert here in Manila but I’ve always followed her career and I’ve seen her bloom all the way from her first single to her current one. She is an emblem of quirkiness and sexiness all rolled into one. She’s got marvelous talents and incredibly gorgeous! I just love her! It was saddening how her marriage to Russell Brand ended that way, when everyone thought, obviously including her, that it will last forever. I guess romance and relationships in show business and music industry doesn’t really last. And you can really tell how she felt about everything in her latest single, Wide Awake. It tells how she sadly awoke from her teenage dream or rather, nightmare: “I’m wide awake. Yeah, I was in the dark I was falling hard with an open heart. I’m wide awake. How did I read the stars so wrong?”Β She’s wide awake and realizes she was in the dark and asking herself what has gone wrong? How did she read the signs (stars) so wrong? “I’m wide awake. And now it’s clear to me that everything you see ain’t always what it seems. I’m wide awake. Yeah, I was dreaming for so long…” Being deceived and manipulated is such an abusive thing and mainly hard to get over with. Especially when you thought that a certain person or happening presents itself to you in such a pleasing way and then all of a sudden, everything is just so damn wrong. “I wish I knew then what I know now. Wouldn’t dive in, wouldn’t bow down. Gravity hurts, you made it so sweet. Till I woke up on, on the concrete…” I always remember what my mom used to tell me, that regrets aren’t in the beginning. It’s always in the end. If only we were smarter, if only we were mature enough to see, comprehend and experience what we’ve gone through now compare to the past events that occurred then we wouldn’t have suffered or won’t be suffering now. If these were possible then we wouldn’t have fallen hard on the pavement. But then, that’s the bittersweet of life. Our experiences, whether good or bad, help us grow into better individuals and eventually help us become stronger. “Falling from cloud 9. Crashing from the high. I’m letting go tonight. I’m falling from cloud 9.” You feel you’re in cloud 9 when you’re in love. And falling from it is such a terrible, terrible thing. Oh god, especially if no one’s there to catch you. “I’m wide awake. Not losing any sleep. Picked up every piece and landed on my feet. I’m wide awake. Need nothing to complete myself, no..” This part is when she realizes that she don’t have to endure that long and she’s starting to regain herself and try to mend and pick up all the pieces of her broken heart. “I’m wide awake. Yeah, I am born again. Out of the lion’s den. I don’t have to pretend. And it’s too late. The story’s over now, the end.” The greatest part in moving on is to finally move. Do you get what I mean? I experienced this after a terrible breakup. I cried and drank and cried and drank again. This goes on like forever, I dunno then I just woke up one day, and it didn’t hurt anymore. Like I’m rejuvenated, feeling carefree and yes, being born again. Out of the lion’s den is being free of all the hurt. The scars and bruises may still be there but being free is definitely priceless. No pretensions anymore and keeping up a straight face that you’re fine when you’re actually not, is over. It’s the end.

Title: Payphone

Artist: Maroon 5 feat. Wiz Khalifa

Album: Overexposed

Now this is what I call a bitter song πŸ™‚ I’ve always been a fan of Maroon 5 since they released their first single She will be loved. I wanted to imagine Adam serenading me with that song! Oh, he’s so beautiful! LOL I can’t wait to sing this song in Araneta Coliseum on September 18 along with the Maroon5 Fanatics! yeaaahh!!

Shocks! I can’t wait to hear them perform this song live! (Breathe in, breathe out..) “I’m at a payphone trying to call home, all of my change I spent on you. Where have the times gone baby it’s all wrong. Where are the plans we made for two?” It’s just shocking how Adam LevineΒ  and his long-time Russian supermodel girlfriend Anne Vyalitsyna suddenly broke up. I was really rooting for the both of them, especially upon seeing their performance during VS Fashion Show and Adam is obviously head over heels for Anne. It’s just so “kilig.” But sadly it ended, though breakup is like a blessing in disguise ’cause he was able to create such great song like Payphone. hehehe “I know its hard to remember, the people we used to be. It’s even harder to picture. That you’re not here next to me. They say its too late to make it. But is it too late to try? And in our time that you wasted all of our bridges burn down.” The meaning is pretty obvious. It’s about a relationship that ended abruptly. He’s still holding on and wouldn’t let go but the person on the other line wants to hang up and end things right away. It’s just heartbreaking! “I’ve wasted my nights, you turned out the lights now I’m paralyzed. Still stuck in that time when we called it love but even the sun sets in paradise”Β When the person so significant to you suddenly left you, it’s like you’re crawling in the dark; all your hopes, dreams and that ray of light has gone to waste. You wanted to believe that it’ll all come back, he or she will come back but then you realizes you’re just living in a dream and waking up is the last thing you wanna do. “I’m at a payphone trying to call home, all of my change I spent on you. Where have the times gone baby it’s all wrong. Where are the plans we made for two? If ‘Happy Ever After’ did exist I would still be holding you like this. All those fairy tales are full of shit. One more fucking love song I’ll be sick.” OOhhhhhh yyyeeaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!

This line simply interprets the pains and reality of a heartache! Clap, clap Adam, clap, clap. You’d always say to yourself, there’s no such thing as happy ever after and fairy tales sucks! (Thanks to Disney!) One more fucking love song and I’m gonna throw up! LOL so damn very well said. hahahaha “You turned your back on tomorrow ’cause you forgot yesterday. I gave you my love to borrow but you just gave it away. You can’t expect me to be fine. I don’t expect you to care. I know I’ve said it before but all of my bridges burned down.” Everything ends when you stopped remembering all the happy memories you’ve shared together. When you let your relationship be consumed by all the pains and sad memories instead of letting the love wash it all away. But what truly pisses me off is when you’re ex actually expects you to be fine?! Like, everything is just OKAY?! You know what I mean, then they’d offer a handshake and assume that you’d be friends again. Hey dude wake up and read my lips?! You just broke my heart so fuck off! πŸ˜€ hahahahahahhahahahaha

What makes this song more enticing is the rap from Wiz Khalifa: “Man, fuck that shit. I’ll be out spending all this money while you’re sitting round wondering why it wasn’t you who came up from nothing, made it from the bottom now when you see me I’m stunting, and all of my cars start with a push of a button. Telling me the chances I blew up or whatever you call it, switch the number to my phone so you never could call it, don’t need my name on my show, you can tell it I’m ballin’. Swish, what a shame could have got picked. Had a really good game but you missed your last shot. So you talk about who you see at the top or what you could have saw but sad to say it’s over for. Phantom pulled up valet open doors Wiz like go away, got what you was looking for. Now it’s me who they want, so you can go and take that little piece of shit with you.”
Title: Breakeven

Artist: The Script

Album: The Script

When The Script erupted in the music scene they instantly became viral. They introduced a fresh, viciously good music, melodiously excellent and compelling. All the songs in their album are beautifully crafted. Especially the song Breakeven.Β “I’m still alive but I’m barely breathing. Just prayin’ to a god that I don’t believe in. ‘Cause I got time while she got freedom. ‘Cause when a heartbreaks no it don’t breakeven.”Β Upon hearing the first line of the song, I was like: OMG. You can instantly feel the pain he’s going through. He wanted to end this pain so eagerly and he’s calling to all the gods and the saints for help just to make it through. I got time while she got freedom, he obviously doesn’t wanna let her go and what’s more depressing is that he knows that she’s enjoying every bit of freedom from him. “Her best days will be some of my worst. She found a man who’s gonna put her first. While I’m wide awake she’s no trouble sleeping. ‘Cause when a heart breaks no it don’t break even.” It’s just so damn sad. You stay wide awake each night, tossing and turning, thinking how she’s doing. Is she with him? Are they having fun? Gosh! It’ll drive you mad! Life and love is unfair and yeah, when a heart breaks no it don’t break even. “What am I supposed to do when the best part of me is always you. What am I supposed to say when I’m all chocked up and you’re okay. I’m falling to pieces.” Hearing this song is hard, but writing about it piece by piece is even harder! I mean, how does people or your ex lover expect you to move on when you just simply can’t live without them. When you can’t even fathom the idea of not being with them? I’m telling you, it’s crazy! “They say bad things happen for a reason. But no wise words gonna stop the bleeding. ‘Cause she’s moved on while I’m still grieving. ‘Cause when a heart breaks no it don’t break even.” You’re grateful that your friends support you all the way, they even cry with you and make you feel better but somehow their advices just won’t take the pain away. Especially when you see him or her moved on already and having the time of their lives with someone new. Ouch. “You got his heart and my heart and none of the pain. You took the suitcase, I took the blame. And I try to make sense of what little remains. ‘Cause you left me with no love and no love to my name.”

Title: Back to December

Artist: Taylor Swift

Album: Speak Now

We’ve fallen in love with her blonde curly hair and angelic country voice and her amazing guitar skills. But one thing that really propels her to write incredible songs is heartache. She has written tons of beautiful songs and some of these are inspired by her previous breakups, for example Joe Jonas, John Meyer and Taylor Lautner. What are these assholes thinking? It’s Taylor Swift for pete’s sake?! Right?? Some guys are just plain dumb-ass. LOL But this song is about herself. She is describing how apologetic she is and actually admitting that she has done wrong in their relationship. Now that’s a brave thing to do. “I’m so glad you made time to see me. How’s life? Tell me how’s your family? I haven’t seen them in a while. We small talk, work and the weather. Your guard is up and I know why.” It’s about an awkward meet up with her former lover after the breakup. And upon their small talk, she notices that his guard is up and the next line explains why he’s acting so cold. “Because the last time you saw me still burned in the back of your mind. You gave me roses and I left them there to die.” As much as they want to act casual and remain friends, the bitterness of past events regarding their breakup still lingers and it’s so damn hard to push aside. “This is me swallowing my pride standing in front you saying I’m sorry for that night. And I go back to December all the time. It turns out freedom ain’t nothing but missing you, wishing I’d realize what I had when you were mind. I’d go back to December, turn around and make it alright. I’d go back to December all the time.”

Aaaawwwwwwwwwwwwww……… Isn’t it frustrating when you are genuinely swallowing your pride just to make it up to him/her but then the damage is too huge to disregard and you’re left with just a wishful thinking that you could go back and make things right 😦 This song is definitely a far cry from her previous songs which are more teenage-bopper kinda thing. But don’t get me wrong, I loved all her singles. It’s just refreshing to see and hear her grow into a more mature artist and song-writer. And she’s becoming more prettier as she comes of age πŸ™‚ “I watched you laughing from the passengers side. And I realized I loved in the fall. And then the cold came, the dark days when fear crept into my mind. You gave me all your love and all I gave you was goodbye.” This is what I love about Taylor’s writing: the refined details on things and her feelings that makes up a wonderful composition. “But if we loved again, I swear I’d love your right. I’d go back in time and change it but I can’t. So if the chain is on your door, I understand.” If only I could turn back time and make things right, you know I would so then you’d still be in my arms now. These are the words that you can read between the lines. It’s so dedicated and genuine. Hail to you, Taylor.

Title: Fix You

Artist: Coldplay

Album: X & Y

When Chris Martin (husband to Gwyneth Paltrow) was interviewed regarding the song Fix You from their album X & Y, the UK’s fastest selling album in the 21st century, he shared the story behind the song. It is actually a message of encouragement to his wife, Gwyneth, after coming home from the hospital crying, because her father was really ill. When he asked her what was wrong, she told him “Just hug me. You’re the only one who can fix me right now.”

“When you try your best but you don’t succeed. When you get what you want but not what you need. When you feel so tired but you can’t sleep. Stuck in reverse. When the tears come streaming down your face. When you lose something you can’t replace. When you love someone but it goes to waste. Could it be worse?” The song is basically about caring for someone so much that you’re assuring them that you’ll always be there for them no matter what. I’m a fan of Coldplay and I admire how they make such great music, and for me this is the best song ever. The words used in this song are simple, emotive and truthful, the hymn is subtle and passionate plus the voice of Chris which blends very well with the church organ and U2-ish guitars, simply the best! “Lights will guide you home. And ignite your bones. And I will try to fix you.” I remember listening to this song and can’t help crying because I’m too overwhelmed with the lyrics and its music. “High up above or down below. When you’re too in love to let it go. But if you’ll never try, you’ll never know. Just what your worth.” Honestly, I’m kinda worried about writing a review on this song since it’s my favorite among ALL my favorites haha I felt like, I couldn’t do enough justice about how beautiful it is. I wish I can write in words the mixed emotions I feel everytime I hear this; especially when I’m in my lowest state. I wish, I truly wish that someone would sing me this song and actually absorb and dedicate to me all the words in it, saying to me “I know life sucks, I know how much you’ve been hurt. But trust me when I say that hurting you is farthest thing in the world that I would do. I know you’re strong, I know you’re capable of taking care of yourself, but just in case you couldn’t handle it anymore, just look behind you. I’ll be standing here and I will try fix you..”

My favorite part is the vociferous instrumental of guitar and organ followed by the choir of voices singing “Tears streaming down on your face. When you lose something you cannot replace. Tears streaming down on your face. I promise you I will learn from my mistakes.” I can just listen to this song for the rest of my life! πŸ™‚

Title: What Doesn’t Kill You (Stronger)

Artist: Kelly Clarkson

Album: Stronger

Of course, after all the heartaches and crying-out-loud, there’s always that shining beacon of hope that we can surpass all this. That one day we’d just look back on the pain of yesterday and we’ll be saying with arms wide open “You can suck it!” HAHAHA And the best soundtrack for that moment is none other than What doesn’t kill you or mostly referred to as Stronger by the first American Idol winner, Kelly Clarkson. “You know the bed feels warmer. Sleeping here alone. You know I dream in color and do the things I want. You think you got the best in me, think you’ve had the last laugh. Bet you think that everything good is gone. Think you left me broken down. Think that I’d come running back.” Well, based on personal experience, I thought back then that everything good is gone. That I won’t be able to smile or laugh again, that the pain would just be infinite and won’t stop. But I was dead wrong, no, he was dead wrong πŸ™‚ because sooner than I expected I was flying high with my dreams underneath my wings and I was having the time of my life! Being happy is such the sweetest revenge πŸ™‚ “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, stand a little taller. Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone. What doesn’t kill you makes you fighter, footsteps even lighter. Doesn’t mean I’m over ’cause you’re gone. What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, stronger. Just me, myself and I.”

HHEEEELLLLL YYYEEAAAAHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

To all the people reading this and who are currently suffering from heartache, mischief in life, or people who feel so broken, try to look at the bright side of life. I know you may not be able to see it now because you’re being blinded by your grief, but do try. Life sucks, BIGTIME. We all know it, but all these trials are life’s way of teaching us to be stronger and appreciate our strengths and weaknesses much more. You’re still breathing, you’re still alive and what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger! πŸ™‚

Cheers!

Xoxo,

KC

8 comments on “KC Playlist #5

    • You know what, having my web-blog with wordpress.com is very easy. Of course it consumes half of your time since blogging is kind of addictive haha but I hope you can try it soon and maybe you can send me your link so I can follow you and we can share our ideas together πŸ™‚ good luck!

  1. Super super super enjoyed this post! Gah! You should be in MYX sis! Or, scrap that! Be in MTV or even freaking American Idol. haha! I love your analysis and ‘girly’ reactions. Good stuff! πŸ˜‰

Reply here! ^_^

