KC’s Playlist 4

For this Playlist, I decided to feature five of my favorite female vocalists from folk, alternative, indie/indie pop and electropop genres.

Artist: Birdy

Song Title: 1901

Album: Birdy

The first time I heard her single “Skinny Love“, I immediately became a fan. This 15-year old English singer has become a web sensation and is now really notching top marks. Her self-titled album has only one original song but all her revivals have different renditions and she managed to make it delightful and folk, a refreshing genre to hear everyday. Her revival of 1901 by the Phoenix seems incredibly new. It’s completely different from the upbeat version of the original cover. At first, you wouldn’t imagine her being that young because her voice is so deep and ominous, giving each and every song a melancholic touch to it. Even the video fits the song perfectly. Basically it’s about a relationship going through a rough time: “Counting all ideas drifting away
Past and present, they don’t matter. Now the future’s sorted out. Watch, you’re moving in elliptical pattern. Think it’s not what you say, what you say is way too complicated. For a minute thought I couldn’t tell how to fall out.” The first verse talks about their problems and that no matter what they do to solve it, it just keeps on drifting away. Past and present they don’t matter, exactly. Didn’t you notice whenever a problem occurs the tendency is we brought up the problems from the past which doesn’t normally relate to the problem at the present and it’s just making things more complicated than it is. And because of that, they keep going on circles and nothing can be really sort out by it. “Lie down, you know it’s easy like we did it all summer long. And I’ll be anything you ask and more.” This line makes me sad because I can feel that the singer is getting pressure of being left behind and that he’d be willing to do and give up everything in order to save the relationship. “It’s not a miracle we needed. No I wouldn’t let you think so fold it, fold it..”  When you’re in a desperate situation, you’d be asking for a miracle from time to time. And she’s saying that miracle won’t help us now, it’s about being true to ourselves just like in card game, FOLD IT: show me all your cards.

Artist: Lykke Li

Song: Possibility

Album: The Twilight Saga: New Moon

Why do I love this weird singer? hahaha Because she’s so talented and her weirdness makes her stand out! Is it just me, or she looked exactly like Lady Gaga?! A darker and melancholic version of her 🙂 I first heard this song from Twilight Saga: New Moon where Bella was mending her broken heart because Edward left her behind. Well, I loved the whole soundtrack of the film which also includes Death Cab for Cutie and many more talented and superb artists. But this song really stood out because it’s very depressing! hahaha This song is beautiful and hopeless in a weird way, I mean every time I hear this it felt like all the hope in the world is gone and only misery is left for us to fumble on. It’s beautiful crazy right? “There’s a possibility. All I’m gon’ get is gone with your stare. So tell me when you hear my heart stop. You’re the only one that knows. Tell me when you hear my silence. There’s a possibility I wouldn’t know.” This song best explains the feelings of Bella on the movie but I’m not gonna focus on her. I find this song perfectly depressing because of the use of instruments and the way the lyrics has been delivered by Lykke Li. Everything just blends perfectly. When you loved someone so extremely and things just sort of fall apart, you feel like all the love, hope and dreams you’ve shared with that person is drifting away with his every step. Tell me when you hear my heart stop, there’s a possibility I wouldn’t know, simple because you’d grow numb of the feeling of hurt or happiness because he’s gone. At some point, you won’t care of what’s happening around you because he has become your world and with him gone it just stopped revolving. “Know that when you leave, by blood and by me, you walk like a thief. By blood and by me, and I fall when you leave.” Isn’t it unfair that they want to get inside and be a part of your life and you’d get weak on the knees and you’d let them, then all of a sudden they get to walk away just in a snap along with your whole being and heart. And with their every walking step, you also fall down deeper into the pavement. Haaayyy the uncertainties of Love and Life.

Artist: Florence and the Machine

Song: Rabbit Heart (Raise it up)

Album: Lungs

Florence did quite different for this new release. It’s lighter and a bit colorful compare to her previous albums wherein she usually plays darker and subtle beat. But no matter, I loved this one and all the tracks in it. What I love about this song is that it’s upbeat it literally makes me dance every time I hear it. The Rabbit Heart speaks to me like, it’s an encouragement song. I’ve read some articles about this particular song and it talks about her career as a musician and her struggles to be where she is. “The looking glass so shiny and new. How quickly the glamour fades. I start spinning, slipping out of time. Was that the wrong pill to take?” The first phrase talks about the fame of being a musician and world-renowned artist. But with a single snap, it can quickly fade away. She was spinning and slipping out of time because every now and then, fresher and younger artists sprang into the industry and serves as a threat to the older ones. “You made a deal, and now it seems you have to offer up. But will it ever be enough? (Raise it up, raise it up). It’s not enough (Raise it up, raise it up).” Every contract, not just in the music industry but in every work related thing. It’s a give-and-take-business, they offer you this and that and in return, you have to deliver and give what the  company or whatever it is that’s demanded of you. And on her position, it’s felt like it’s not enough. “Here I am, a rabbit hearted girl. Frozen in the headlights. It seems I’ve made the final sacrifice.” Comparing herself to a rabbit-heart girl is like demeaning herself because she gets scared of all the negativity. “This is a gift, it comes with a price. Who is the lamb and who is the knife? Midas is king and he holds me so tight. And turns me to gold in the sunlight.” Everyone has their own gifts or their talents and she’s saying that it always come with a price. Like competing against herself and trying so hard to be better in everything that she does. I can relate to this one actually. Sometimes I get competitive not just with another person but with my own self and it scares the hell out of me ’cause I beat myself up whenever I fall short. “I look around, but I can’t find you (raise it up). If only I could see your face (raise it up). Instead of rushing towards the skyline (raise it up). I wish that I could just be brave.” No man is an island, they always say. And I agree because no matter how high you think of yourself, you’d always search for someone to hold on to in times of great despair. Someone to remind you that everything’s gonna be okay and will pick you up and will keep pushing you forward to be the best you can be; making you brave as a lion.

Artist: Lenka

Song: Don’t let me fall

Album: Lenka

This track is my favorite from this album. Not only is it so catchy and cute but it’s really heartfelt! “Underneath the moon, underneath the stars, here’s a little heart for you. Up above the world, up above it all. Here’s a hand to hold on to.” The melody is just so delightful and endearing. It’s like a sweet kid is singing to me! haha and I like it. “You’re just the one that I’ve been waiting for. I’ll give you all that I have to give and more. But don’t let me fall.” It can be a song to your best friend or significant someone. It clearly states that she loves that person so much and would be willing to do anything for that person; offer her heart and time, strength and weaknesses but at the same time, she doesn’t want to be alone as well so she’s asking not to let her go and fall. “Take a little time, walk a little line. Got the balance right. Give a little love, gimme just enough so that I can hang on tight. We will be alright, I’ll be by your side I wont let you down. But I gotta know, no matter how things go. That you will be around.” It’s such a wonderful feeling to love someone and be actually loved back. You don’t mind giving them the best and always be there for them because you know they’d do the same for you. You’re just the one that I’ve been waiting for, this line simply speaks it all. It’s like saying that the search is over and I’m willing to settle down for you but always reassure me that you’d never let me fall: “You’ll be the one that I’ll love forever more. I’ll be here holding you high above it all. But don’t let me fall.”

Artist: Chairlift

Song: Bruises

Album: Does you inspire you

I was then working with a previous employer and he’s a fan of this all indie, alternative, electropop and everything in between. And he made a mix tape of such soundtracks and I borrowed it and played it inside my car. And hell yeah! What a background we have during our road trip! What I love about this band is the great mixture of Caroline and Patrick’s voice esp with this single. And the great thing about this song, its about unrequited love but the beat is so distinct from its actual words. If you’d just listen to the beat and not the lyrics, you’d think that this song is about happiness and you know,   like a festive song but it’s not! hahaha It’s actually about a disappointed love. “I tried to do handstands for you. I tried to do headstands for you.Every time I fell on you, yeah every time I fell. I tried to do handstands for you. But every time I fell for you. I’m permanently black and blue. Permanently blue for you.” This line actually gives me headache! ‘Cause I’ve been listening to this song when I was broken-hearted hahaha As I said, it’s all about unrequited love. The kind of love which you’ve done everything for that certain person hence they’d just take you for granted in return and would just leave you hanging. They just left you with nothing but bruises in your heart and in your soul, and moreover, all over your body. I’m permanently black and blue. Permanently blue for you. “I got bruises on my knees for you. And grass stains on my knees for you. Got holes in my new jeans for you. Got pink and black and blue.” This line shows the different colors of being hurt by someone, but instead of letting go she just kept holding on. Wishing that he’d be moved by her undying efforts and be loved in return. What the fuck right? hahaha

6 comments on “KC’s Playlist 4

  1. Thanks for introducing me … never heard about any of those – accept “Florence and the Machine” – I’m always open for new music … and new artist.

  2. Having read this I thought it was very informative.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this short article together.
    I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and commenting.

    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  3. I’m starting a new online website directory and was wondering if I can submit your site? I’m hoping to grow my directory slowly by hand so that it retains high quality. I will make sure and put your website in the appropriate category and I’ll also use, “KC’s Playlist 4 iamkaicee” as your anchor text. Please be sure to let me know if this is okay with you by contacting me at: Chauncey4926@gmail.com. Thanks!

Reply here! ^_^

