KC’s Playlist 3

Title: Shove

Artist: Angels and Airwaves

Album: LOVE

I’ve always been a fan of Blink 182 since I was in high school so it was refreshing to hear Tom being the lead singer in a whole different genre. It’s been a big leap from doing punk rock music that is humorous to alternative rock in a more serious and mature style. I like it! 🙂 I love all their tracks from this album but I decided to share my thoughts on this single since it has a wonderful meaning to me. “Forget the things that you own, and travel almost anywhere you can go. Dance across the tree-tips, set them ablaze, soaking in her pleasant warm summer haze. And reaping on her streets and school city blocks. And finding strings on her while you’re skipping rocks. And feeding on her touch as it will barely keep you alive.” What I love about this first verse is that it made you appreciate the things you usually neglect in a daily basis. It’s about loving and living life to its fullest and just the idea of appreciating all the creation of God and humankind no matter how little or enormous it is. And what’s more endearing is when you get to see the world in a different perspective because you’re with someone special and in every turn it’s all worthwhile. “She said; show me the world that’s inside your head. Show me the world that you see yourself. You can use some help, cause sometimes it comes with a shove when you fall in love.” – F.A.N.T.A.S.T.I.C. (I have to put emphasis on each letter to express how I feel about this line 🙂 ) You know when you wanted to get close to someone and get to know them more, you feel desperate to get inside their head and know what they feel and think, not because you wanted to pry but to be able to give them what they need. Whether its in physical aspect emotional or spiritual. You know what I mean? Because really, sometimes it comes with a shove when you fall in love.

“It can be like death that blows like a breeze. Making all one’s strength go weak at the knees. I hate to feel the shallow ground giving way. I’d never let myself fall this much astray. And feeding on her touch as one does to survive.” When you’re in love, you can’t help being vulnerable. It’s like your own being and reasons has somehow become dependable on that certain someone. And that all you need is him or her to be able to survive. “She said; show me the world that’s inside your head. She me the meaning of life and death. And you want regrets, cause sometimes it comes with a shove when you fall in love.” This line for me simply means, show me your ups and downs, let’s cry together and face all the challenges as one.

“If you’re ever alone you can call to mine I’ll be at your side. If you’re ever alone then you’re heart will know. It can reach to mine I’ll be at your side.”

Title: Endlessly

Artist: The Cab

Album: Symphony Soldier

This may be a bit over-rated but this song is definitely my dream serenade song! I SWEAR! “There’s a shop down the street where they sell plastic rings for a quarter a piece, I swear it. Yeah, I know that it’s cheap not the gold in your dreams but I hope that you’ll still wear it.” Money can’t buy love and happiness. I still believe that when you love someone, it doesn’t matter what status they are in their lives or whatever paycheck they receive each month. It’s the sincerity, respect and honesty that sums it all in order to attain a great and harmonious relationship. That this guy would be anything and would do anything just to have your heart and wouldn’t even take advantage of it. “Yeah the ink may stain my skin and my jeans may all be ripped. I’m not perfect but I swear I’m perfect for you.” Scratch those ideal boys and girls in your dreams, those aren’t real! I mean, out of 10 people who end up being with their ideal boy and girl right? When love found you, it finds you and when it made you fly there’s nothing you can do but heed the call of cupid 🙂

“And there’s no guarantee that this will be easy. It’s not a miracle you need, believe me. I’m no angel, I’m just me but I will love you endlessly. Wings aren’t what you need, you need me.” Who says love and relationship is all that easy? Love for me is not about rules and guidelines. It’s not like a game that you need a game plan in order to succeed. It’s not like a business meeting where at the end of the day you guys have come up with a deal. It’s not like a strategy that you have to prepare for Plan A and Plan B. For me, love is about compromising. It’s not literally being selfless but its more of giving and knowing what your partner wants and needs and doing everything you could to meet that need. Love is a two-way street, it’s not just about You or Me, it’s about Us and making things work for the both of Us.

“There’s a house on the hill with a view of the town and I know how you adore it. So I’ll work everyday through the sun and the rain until I can afford it.” Now this line is BOOM!!! I mean wouldn’t any girl love that? That her partner strives so hard to give her everything that she desires? That he’d put your safety first among all else. Damn!

Title: Never Gonna Leave this Bed

Artist: Maroon 5

Album: Hands All Over

This for me is the best song in the album. What makes it wonderful is that it’s so honest and desperate! hahaha Like the guy is literally begging to love him again and Adam’s voice adds up a sweetness and harmonious tune to this song. In short, plain perfect! “You push me. I don’t have the strength to resist or control you. So take me down, take me down. So hurt me but do I deserve this. You make me so nervous. Calm me down, calm me down.” You know the feeling when you love someone and they just keeps on pushing you around when they don’t need you and will pull you back whenever they do. And you’re stupid and madly in love that you can’t simply resist them. And that they have the ability to hurt you and make you happy at the same time. Isn’t that ironic? They hold that much power over you and as much as you don’t want to admit it, that’s just the plain truth 😦

“Wake you up in the middle of the night to say, I’ll never walk away again. I’m never gonna leave this bed. You say go, it isn’t working and I say no, it isn’t easy but I’ll stay and still I’m never gonna leave this bed.” All relationships aren’t perfect and it depends on how you react and handle all the shortcomings of  you and your partner. There will be tines that one or both of you would want to get out or ask for a breakup. This line is about him reassuring her that he’ll never gonna leave her again. That no matter what she says that it’s not working and not worth it, he’ll stay instead and prove her wrong. DAMN! “Take it, take it all, take all that I have. I’d give it all away just to get you back. And fake it, fake it I’ll take what I can get. Knocking so loud can you hear me yet, try to stay awake but you can’t forget.” Now that is the sweetest and most selfless thing a person could do. It’s natural that a person can only think about himself but when they’re selfless it simply means they love that person truly.

Title: Slow it Down

Artist: Amy MacDonald

Album: Life in a Beautiful Light

Not only that I like her voice which is so powerful like Adele, but I also like her style. There’s a classic with a country feel and the quality is just great! 🙂 “I never knew you before. I walk around with my eyes on the floor. And now you’re everywhere to me, you’re every face that I see.” This first line really strikes me because I can totally relate to it. It’s just amazing how people surprises you in a special way, especially when this certain someone is just a stranger to you then eventually things happen unexpectedly and one thing lead to another and he’s everywhere you see! Like his voice and touch haunts you. “I guess I’ve been running round town, leaving my tracks, burning out rubber, driving too fast. But I’ve gotta slow right down. Back to the moment the very start, from the very first day you had my heart but I’ve gotta slow it right down.” Everyday you go on your daily routine and it feels like everything was in fast forward. But sometimes you gotta slow it right down and look back on the people and events that left a mark in your life. That kinda speaks to me. I consider myself as a bit workaholic and always on the go and I seldom turn and reflect on the things that matters most to me. Then I met this guy, who by the way is the apple of my eye 🙂 He taught me how to slow down, relax and take in all the great tidings life has to offer. And i’m looking forward to the crappy, bratty yet absolutely blissful months and years with him 🙂

“Wishing, wanting for something more, always better than I had before. Who knew these dreams would come true?” I don’t dream of a knight in shining armor with his great cavalier that would rescue me from the great tower and fight all the beasts that comes our way. No, my dream guy is very simple. He’d know how to make me smile and laugh whenever I had a bad day or I couldn’t get any tickets to the concert of my favorite band. He’s someone who would drive for hours just to grab a bite with me for an hour or less. He’s the guy who would stand up to my friends and without any hesitation, would tell the world how much I mean to him. He would hang out with my friends and family, have fun with them, and accept them without any judgement because he knows how much they mean to me. He’s the guy who never forgets to open the car door for me or hold my hand every time we cross the street or remind me to eat my meals properly and tuck me to bed with his sweet kisses. A guy who would tell the whole world that I’m his only girl esp. to someone I’m extremely jealous about. He’d cook for me and treats me like a princess. And most importantly, he’s proud of me and what I’ve accomplished and make me feel like I’m the only girl in the world for him. That I’m WAY SEXIER than Miranda Kerr! LOL or WAY PRETTIER than JENNIFER LAWRENCE 😀

Title: Cough Syrup

Artist: Young the Giant

Album:

Not only was this song so catchy but also they reminds me of the Killers, which by the way, is one of my favorite bands. Young the Giant, whose formerly known as The Jakes has been an overnight sensation! “Life’s too short to even care at all.” TRUE! Don’t sweat over petty stuff because they ain’t worth it! Try to loosen up and just breathe in every moment whether it may be a pain in the ass or the most blissful occurrence. “These fishes in the sea are staring at me, a wet world aches for the beat of a drum.I’m coming up now, coming up out of the blue. These zombies in the park, they’re looking at my heart.” This line for me is about him trying not give a care in the world, that he’s going through something serious but wishes not to give a damn. And the fishes are metaphor for the people surrounding him. “A dark world aches for the splash of the sun. If I could find a way to see this straight. I’d runaway to some fortune that I, I should have found by now.” We’ve all faced challenges in our lives and sometimes we just wanted to runaway or simply disappear to some place where problems and chaos is unknown. It’s a challenge that most of us go through each day but the real challenge is how do we cope with it? “And so I run now to the things they said could restore me. Restore life the way it should be. I’m waiting for this cough syrup to come down.” Whenever we get to face some challenges, we always look for one thing that serves as our “saving grace.” That one thing that makes us feel OK despite all the bullshit that’s been happening around us. The cough syrup may be metaphor for drugs or whatever but the song indicates that it’s the one thing that makes him calm. So if you’re feeling down or going through a rough time, think of your happy place instead and do the things that would make you feel calm.  

5 comments on “KC’s Playlist 3

  1. What a fantastic job you have done here … with reviewing your music – excellent job, none of them is my type of music … but doesn’t matter you have done an awesome job.

Reply here! ^_^

