KC’s Playlist 2

Title: Don’t Give Up On “US”

Artist: The Maine

Album: Pioneer

I love John, and I also love their music! 🙂 This new single strikes me like a bullet train! It’s everything I ever wanted for a guy to tell me, you know what I mean. “Trust in us, we’re all that you’ve got these days.” Whatever your problems are, no matter how drowned you feel you are, you know you’d get through anything as long as you’re together. DAMN BEAT THAT!!! hahahaha

“Take a look inside my heart, Oh let’s get carried away.” So, what’s stopping you? I mean, being in love is such a wonderful feeling so just go on with it, heed the call, get head over heels and let yourself got carried away 🙂

“Don’t you dare, don’t you ever give up, don’t you ever give up on us, my dear.” So, how can you convince someone not to give up on you? It’s so damn frustrating when you know how much you love this person yet they just can’t love you with the same intensity back. (sigh) I hope my dumb ex can hear this song! hahahaha

Title: I Will Follow You Into The Dark

Artist: Death Cab for Cutie

Album: Plans

What I love about DCFC is that, there music is full of passion that almost everything sounds like a lament. And Ben’s voice is exceptionally melodious. Every time I listen to their tracks, it’s like I’m in a whole new dimension that is problem-free! There’s so much to love in all their albums but there’s one thing that particularly hits me, it’s this track. It’s about a love in its sincerest form. “Love of mine, someday you will die but I’ll be close behind and I’ll follow you  into the dark.” Love is so overrated. But what signifies true love is when, even if they die or that you don’t belong together anymore, you never stopped loving them. It’s not an act of martyrdom, it’s just loving that person simply completes you. “No blinding lights or tunnels to gates of white, just our hands clasped so tight.” He’s telling, whoever he’s singing this song to, that don’t you mind heaven or hell, or that light you should follow when you die, just feel my hand against yours and I’ll make you feel safe. Or that if there’s no place for you there, you belong here with me. “I got my knuckles bruised by the lady in black. And I held my tongue as she told me, ‘Son, fear is the heart of love'” There’s been a lot of debate about this line. Well, I’m raised as a solid Catholic and of course I’m familiar with the teachings of the church. This line for me, relating to the other lines about Heaven and Hell, that the nun is teaching them to fear God and do this and do that. But for me, believing in God doesn’t necessarily mean you fear Him, why? Because God is so merciful and that He wants us to bear in mind that He is our father, but also our friend. And that we shouldn’t fear making mistakes because He gave us the free will to decide on our own therefore commit mistakes on our own but at the end of it all, what’s important is that you repent and never lose your faith in Him and His grace. whew! hahaha so going back, “If there’s no one beside you when your soul embarks, then I’ll follow you into the dark.” This for me, is literally the passing of someone you love. When someone you love dies, you know you should not fear for them since they’ll be soon if God’s hands but somehow you wanted to make sure if they’re really gonna be fine so he’s gonna follow her/him into the dark. “And the soles of your shoes are all worn down, the time for sleep is now. It’s nothing to cry about ’cause we’ll hold each other soon in the blackest of rooms.” You know that it’s time for them to take their rest because their duties and purpose in this world has been fulfilled already, so there’s no bitterness or sadness, hence you’re telling them, we’ll soon be together once I finished mine. What a lovely, lovely song…

Title: Our July In The Rain

Artist: He Is We

Album: Skip to the Good Part

Their new album has lots of improvement. I liked their music from the very first time I heard them and it’s nice to hear that they’ve added new arrangements to their album. I’ve been playing this track over and over again since I can relate to this. “Bring me back to holding hands in the rain, I swear I’d ease your pain. Lift you up so you could finally see, the love you are to me.” There’s a difference between WANTING to take care of someone and KNOWING how to take care of them. It’s a matter of knowing what he/she wants and what you are capable of. Yes you want them to be happy being with you, and that you’re trying so hard to be the best version of yourself that they deserve to be with, but what if it’s not enough? What if no matter what you do or say, you just can’t be together. “Thought I’d moved on but you brought me right back to the night you took my kiss away from me. I took yours too but I lost you.” Parting is such sweet sorrow (yes! Romeo & Juliet line!) and it sucks how they  manage to take everything away from you, including that sweetest kiss you share with them. “Every part of me is broken now. I tried to scream but nothing came out.” I remember the time my ex and I split up, I’ve never felt so broken in my entire life.. I can’t stand, I can’t eat, I can’t sleep, I can’t talk and it felt like all my joints are in pain. I actually thought that was the end of me. At some point all of us felt the same way after going through a terrible break up. All the pain consumes you and there’s nothing you can do but pray that someone or something can take the pain away. They say screaming helps, that you should go to a cliff or somewhere and just scream your lungs out! Curse that person who caused you pain and just let it all out. “Drop my pride and I reveal my inside. And it all came pouring out.” I’m a proud person and I did once dropped  all of my pride for the one I love, but then, it all goes to waste. Well, I never had regrets for it, but somehow the bitterness always kept creeping in. I was like “What else do you want me to do or say just to make things right?” Because deep in my heart, I know I did everything I could but it just isn’t enough and that frustrates me. So there, bring me back to holding hands in the rain…

Title: This Love is Fucking Right

Artist: The Pains of Being Pure at Heart

Album: The Pains of Being Pure at Heart

This is basically about a love gone wrong, but feels so fucking right! “Sweet sister, can’t you find the words to say. Your mister, he don’t hurt you the right way.” This is obviously about a woman who’s being treated by her husband awfully. And the term used as sister, doesn’t mean they’re literally committing incest. For me, he and this woman has been friends for a long time and considered each other as brothers and sisters, best friends etc., kind fooled around a bit and yeah, cheated on her husband for being such an asshole! “In the dark room I can see you shining bright, you don’t have to tell me twice it’s alright. In the dark room we can do just what we like. You’re my sister and this love is fucking right.” Of course this is disturbing. I mean, righteously-speaking, you can’t right a wrong deed with another wrong deed but what can you do when you’re on the edge of a knife right? This song really tells about doing something wrong but feels so right at the same time! I know we all have our fair share of that feeling! Because I can remember mine so clearly! hahaha “No, you can’t go home after where you slept last night.” Now the morning after is the real pain. You’ll find yourself smiling alone like a crazy person and felt guilty at the same time. But what the hell? Indulge! Especially if this love is fucking right! 🙂

Title: Desire

Artist: Anna Calvi

Album: Anna Calvi

This song is ridiculously good and catchy! By the title, it’s about a strong desire to be with someone and never letting them go. “The sky is getting darker tonight, darker than the fear that’s gonna pull us apart.” Don’t you just hate the feeling when you’re about to part because the day’s over? 😦 and that you have to wait for another couple of hours or days, even weeks to see each other again 😦 argh! I hate missing someone! “The beating is the sound of love, the sound of love is beating like a fevered heart.” There’s just no other way to describe instead of admitting that it’s love.

“And it’s the fire, fire, fire, it’s heavenly, heavenly desire…” Gosh I miss that feeling of longing and desiring to be able to hold someone and never let them go. For me, the mystery of this song is in the lyrics “God knows its the sound of love. But it’s just the devil in me. It’s just a door to the devil gathered in disguise. Taking me by the hand and leading me off to the fire.” How do you deal with a love gone wrong? You know that it’s about to end even before it started. You know that it’s leading you to the fires of hell even when it felt so heavenly. These are just the obvious complications of wrong timing when it comes to love, but then, you find yourself uttering “who am I to say NO to this great feeling?”

3 comments on “KC’s Playlist 2

Reply here! ^_^

