KC’s Playlist

Title: Pumped Up Kicks

Artist: Foster the People

The first time I heard this song, I was automatically drawn to it. First it’s catchy, lighthearted and upbeat, like literally makes me wanna dance every time I hear it. Well of course,  I looked the lyrics up via net and little did I know, this song is a tragedy and disturbing! haha It tells about a story of a kid who I think is being bullied all the time and was neglected by his dad. And since his Dad is always working late, he found his gun in the closet and decided to take his revenge by shooting the kids who kept on bullying him! Absolutely disturbing! The chorus goes “All the other kids with the pumped up kicks, you better run, better run, faster than my bullet.” He was literally enjoying killing the other kids and of course, you can’t outrun a bullet. This kid has lots of issues but then, you can’t really blame them. They’ve been misguided by their parents and families that they feel neglected and so, they do terrible things without any idea what the consequences are. See, this song has good lesson in it.

Title: Turning Tables

Artist: Adele

This is one of the favorite tracks in the album because the lyrics really speaks to me. When she was interviewed about the meaning of this song, she said “he always fucking turning the tables on me.” We all have different experiences when it
comes to complicated relationships and this song somehow speaks about Adele’s. Don’t you just hate it when your partner turns the table around whenever your arguing and they make it seem like its all your fault and they just always get away with it since you have strong feelings for them. The line “I won’t let you close enough to hurt me” is about distancing herself from the emotional pain that she encountered when her partner hurts her either physical or emotional. The line “I braved a hundred storms to leave you” always give me the jitters every time I hear it. It may be literally or metaphorically, but for me it means you’re desperate enough to do EVERY THING just to forget and to finally move on. And alas, “Next time I’ll be braver, I’ll be my own savior” is standing on her two feet and ready to face life again with headstrong and chest full of hope. Tsk, I so love Adele.

Title: Somebody that you used to know

Artist: Gotye feat. Kimbra

This song speaks to me in multilevel kinda way. It’s like a conversation between two ex-lovers turned into a beautiful song. The first part he was reminiscing about their happy days but was turned into sadness in just a snap. Well honestly, it was never easy being friends with your ex, especially when there’s too much history and too much pain. It’s a sad, sad world really. “You didn’t have to cut me off, make out like it never happened and that we were nothing.” Usually, after break up especially when it was really bad, you tend to cut off the communication between you and your ex, I know its harsh but then that’s the only way to eventually move on or to just simply forget and heal. “Now and then I think about the times you screwed me over, had me believin’ it was always something that I’d done.” This part of the song was like, YOU BETCH-UR-ASS moment for me! Don’t you just hate it when all the while, you thought that you’re the bad guy in the relationship and that what happened was entirely your fault then you get that heart sinking feeling when you get to discover things you didn’t wanna know and everything was crystal clear that you were dating a Dbag! Whew!

Title: Breathe Again

Artist: Sara Bareilles

I heard this song on Vampire Diaries episode and right then and there I fell in love with it! It’s so melancholic and the kind of song that brings out the saddest and heaviest memory there is! WTF??!!! Well, obviously she’s torn between leaving her current relationship and moving on because she know’s there’s no point staying… You see, in every relationship, love isn’t always enough. And as much as we want to think there is nothing or no one can tear you both apart, sometimes, things just didn’t work out the way you plan then to be. “All those words came undone and now I’m not the only one facing the ghost that decide if the fire still burns.” Who really decides when it’s over? Who gives the last call? How can you say  that you can stop loving someone when you actually can’t. As simple and plain as that. “Out of breath, I am left hoping someday, I’ll breathe again.” Being in a painful place really takes your breath away, like the air in your lungs has deserted you. You were grasping for breath and felt like dying but all you can do is slowly inhale and take in all those sorrows because you know at some point, you’ll be able to breathe again… “And my burden to bear is a love I can’t carry anymore.” You feel so heavy in you heart because you know that you can’t continue loving that certain person because he can’t love you back. And as much as you wanted to let it go or to be free from it, it’s also painful to do so because you know that the memory of loving him/her is the only proof that he does exists, or the pain even. So what are you gonna do?

Title: Punching in a dream

Artist: Naked and the Famous

This is one of my favorite indie bands. Not only did the voice of their vocals sounds creepy and cold yet magical, but their songs are really evocative. For me this song talks about a greatest fear coming to life. You know when you’re having nightmares and that you are so desperate to wake up and like you’re literally punching in a dream, that’s how you feel when your greatest fear in happening or has happened in front of you. “All the lights go down as I crawl into spaces.” Whenever you’re facing a problem or what-not, you felt like you’re crawling in a very dark place and there’s no one to help you up. “I don’t even wanna be here, like punching in a dream breathing life into my nightmare.” Even if you wanna be somewhere else’s shoes, you just can’t and there’s nothing you can do but to face that fact and deal with it. “They’ll get through, they’ll get you. In the place where you feel it the most. When you’re cornered, when it’s forming in the place that you wish was the ghost.” The fear, disappointment, sadness will get you if you let them. That’s why there’s a lot of people commuting suicide because they believe there’s no way around this difficulty. You just have to learn how to handle your emotions and keep your sane while doing it! 🙂

Title: Great Romances of the 20th Century

Artist: Taking Back Sunday

This song’s intro is very simple, but is surely every girl’s serenade dream song. “A beautiful girl can make you dizzy, like you’ve been drinking jack and coke all morning. She can make you feel high; full of single greatest commodity known to man: Promise. Promise of a better day, promise of a greater hope, promise of a new tomorrow. This particular aura can be found in the gait of a beautiful girl. In her smile, and in her soul, and the way she makes every rotten little thing about life seems like it’s gonna be okay.” DAMN. Period. As much as the intro is beautiful, the story of the song isn’t pretty at all. “Excuses off the tip of your tongue and I’d slowly fall apart.” You know when you are looking forward for something with your special someone and then disappointment happens. Like, I dunno, it got screwed up because of some certain lie and everything just falls apart. For me that’s the meaning of that line. “This won’t mean a thing come tomorrow and that’s exactly how I make it seem cause I’m still not sleeping thinking I’ve crawl home from worse than this.” You know when you wanted to just think that everything is okay but they’re really not and that you’re trying not to make a big deal out of things but it really is. But you know that he/she won’t listen to you or even care so what’s the point right? “She says, ‘come on, come on, let’s just get this over with.” Now this part is the mystery of the song. The girl is being manipulative and is just using sex to make out for everything. And that for her, it’s her ticket so her partner would forget her mistakes or shortcomings. But of course, who would want that kind of relationship right? “If it’s not keeping you up at night, then what’s the point? I’m in your room. Is this turning you on, am I turning you on?” Now this is just sad… You know there’s no other way to make things right and that maybe, just maybe sex would bring back the love and affection you both once had for each other.

Title: Your ex-lover is dead

Artist: Stars

This is a touching song. We always anticipate what we’re gonna do, feel, or say to our ex-lover when we bump into them one of these days. And this song tells a story about it. “God, that was strange to see you again. Introduced by a friend of a friend. Smiled and said, “Yes, I think we’ve met before.” In that instant it started to pour.” You know the feeling of awkwardness, curiosity and the longing when you saw his/her face. Even when the time apart is quite long, it still doesn’t change the fact that you once loved each other and share wonderful memories together. It’s not easy to forget his/her name, but at some point you did wanted to. “This scar is a fleck on my porcelain skin. You try to reach deep but you never got in.” All our relationships give us pain and hurt in some way, and over the years it amazes you how you dealt with all those things and manage to heal. But all those memories serves as a scar. It may not be visible anymore, but you know it’s still there. “I’ll write you a postcard, I’ll send you the news from the house down the road from real love.” Eventually, you’ll be in a happy place and you’ll find your real love. A love that is genuine and true, and it helps you grow to be positive and not bitter anymore. “I’m not sorry I met you, I’m not sorry it’s over, I’m not sorry there’s nothing to save.” You know deep in your heart that you tried everything to keep them and yet this leads you down the road of separate ways. But sooner or later you’ve accepted it and manage to feel happy for him/her and you can say this last line to them with sincerity.

5 comments on “KC’s Playlist

  1. I must show my respect for your kindness for individuals who require guidance on the area of interest. Your real commitment to getting the message up and down appears to be rather insightful and have in every case enabled individuals just like me to get to their dreams. Your insightful advice signifies a great deal to me and additionally to my colleagues. Regards; from everyone of us.

    • Hey! Thanks so much for that deep acknowledgement. Well, this songs are some of my daily inspiration and the idea was just to share these to those who listens to the same genre as I do, and I’m glad this post was helpful to you. I’m really looking forward to hear more about your thoughts! keep in touch! xoxo

  2. Hey there just came upon your website via Google after I entered in, “KC’s Playlist iamkaicee” or something similar (can’t quite remember exactly). In any case, I’m glad I found it simply because your content is exactly what I’m looking for (writing a college paper) and I hope you don’t mind if I gather some material from here and I will of course credit you as the reference. Appreciate it.

Reply here! ^_^

