Playlist #6

Dear Reader,

Don’t get me wrong why I shared this playlist in my blogsite. Yes, these songs are full of melancholy but it doesn’t mean that I’m still in the shadows.. uhmm..maybe a little bit but, anyway, I just wanted to share these songs because they helped me get through all these pain and crap. A LOT. Music has been such a great influence in my character and mood swings (LOL) and if you’re going through a rough time, just try listening to these songs. Sure it will make you cry, sure it will make you sad, but then life is just like songs, really. It tells you your story, it may be glorious or crappy from time to time but it also gives you a realization, a learning that maybe it’s finally time to move. Besides, the show must go on. From One Tree Hill and I quote: “Every song has a coda; a final movement. Whether it fades out or crushes away. Every song ends. But is that any reason not to enjoy the music?” Because even great songs comes to an end, so is your sorrow. So if you’re feeling blue, choose you’re favorite song and listen to it intently and know that somewhere across the world, someone is also listening to it at the same time. And you’re not alone :)

Title: Samson

Artist: Regina Spektor

Album: Begin to Hope

The American singer-song writer released this album around 2006 if I’m not mistaken. Born in Moscow, Soviet Union, Regina has been greatly influenced and exposed to music at an early age by her parents who are also in the music industry. For me, I consider a great artist if you look into their background and uncover that music and art has been their passion, let’s say, from an early age or influenced by their families and environment, not just some singers/bands nowadays who got signed on a contract because they look glamorous or they sing very well. In order to be called an artist, the passion has to really come from your roots and heart, or something like that. I’m just saying. So anyway, I heard this song when I was in college and at first I was a bit confused about the lyrics because back then I’m just hearing it but not really listening to it. “You are my sweetest downfall. I loved you first, I loved you first. Beneath the sheets of paper lies my truth. I have to go, I have to go. Your hair was long when we first met.”

Okay, I read some reviews and interpretations about this song and some of them are really good and interesting analysis but some are wildly ridiculous! I mean, how on earth can you relate this song to someone who’s suffering from cancer and going through a chemo therapy?? hahahaha Oh well, no judgment :) You are my sweetest downfall, basically it’s about loving someone but then its a failure. She’s been hurt, she’s struggling and she’s falling from Cloud 9 but then, there’s no regrets. In fact, she still considers this love, no matter how a failure it might be, the greatest love of her life. In a relationship, the couple sometimes sort who falls in love with whom first, right? And in this song, she tells him that she fell for him first, and the sheets of paper where she confessed her love for this guy are the sole witness of this fidelity.

“Samson went back to bed not much hair left on his head. He ate a slice of wonder bread, and went right back to bed. And history books forgot about us and the Bible didn’t mention us, and the Bible didn’t mention us, not even once.” For me, the song has nothing to do literally with the story about Samson and Delilah. She’s just referring the guy as Samson because he’s handsome, tough, strong and adventurous. And her as Delilah, beautiful, graceful and enigmatic. They would have been such a wonderful couple together, their love story would have been epic, legendary like the stories in the Bible or in history books, but no matter how hard they try to make things work, it just always falls apart.

There comes a time when you figured out, you love this person, you truly wanna be with them for the rest of your life but it sucks because you aren’t meant for each other and this love just ruins the both of you. Regardless of how you think and feel that this love is so powerful and so right, for some reasons everything is just so wrong at the same time and the more you try to figure out what’s wrong, the more it became complicated. That’s why he is her sweetest downfall.. “Oh, we couldn’t bring the columns down. Yeah, we couldn’t destroy a single one. And history books forgot about us and the Bible didn’t mention us, not even once.” It’s a tragic love, really.

Title: Satellite Heart

Artist: Anya Marina

Album: Spirit School

I first heard this song from Twilight Series second installment, New Moon. Among all its sequels, the film New Moon has, by far, the most truthful and interesting soundtrack ever. I love every single track featured on the film as well as the artists. If you have time, try to check them out so you’d know what I mean :) Though this song was featured in the film, for me it just interprets what Bella’s situation was when Edward decided to leave her but not literally about their love story: “So pretty, so smart. Such a waste of a young heart. Whatta pitty whatta sham. What’s the matter with you man?” Basically, the song speaks about a girl who was left by her lover. She is pretty and smart, she’s every guy’s dream girl and yet this guy of an ass still left her behind. So it’s like asking the guy “What’s the matter with you, man?? What more could you ask for??”

Don’t you see what’s wrong can’t you get it right? Outta mind, and outta sight. Call on all your girls, don’t forget the boys, put a lid on all that noise.” After my break-up with my then ex before, I did party a lot, go out with friends, go on out-of-town-trips, anything and everything that might seal the pain and memories away. That’s what the second verse talks about. You tend to do all the things you can imagine just to block everything that reminds you of him. I’m, a satellite heart. Lost in the dark. I’m spun out so far, you stop I start, but I’ll be true to you. I hear your living out of state runnin’ in a whole new scene. You know I haven’t slept in weeks, you’re the only thing I see.” This line is just heart-breaking-brilliant!!!! As much as you deny it, the TRUTH is, your world revolves around him. How can you move on? Whenever you manage to take a step away from him, just one text or call from him, it automatically draws you back to the beginning? Always. And shit, you’re back to ground zero!!! You’re like a satellite, lost and alone in the universe and you’re watching over him as your world and you’re just keep on orbiting around him because you don’t have the courage to let go yet. You’re being stubborn because you know deep in your heart that it’s over and there’s nothing left to do but to move on and look for a different universe but you can’t help hoping that they’ll come back knocking on your door, you replay all the conversations inside your head and imagining for a different outcome.

wwwhhhhhheeeeeewwwwwwwwwwww

Title: Quiet In My Town

Artist: Civil Twilight

Album: Quiet In My Town

This trio rock band from Cape Town, South Africa has conquered the world of U.S. TV series and big screen. You might have heard them in One Tree Hill, Terminator, Vampire Diaries, Harper’s Island and I am Number Four. Most of the time they’re being compared to U2, Radiohead and even Coldplay because of their alt-rock vibe which I love hehe :)

I heard this song on One Tree Hill in a sad, sad episode when one of the characters has been shot. This song was played on his funeral and it’s just perfect. Sad, but perfect. “Today I heard that someone left this earth. That someone disappeared, left no mark here. Today I heard that someone just got up and left themselves lying on the ground.” The song is about grieving obviously. It talks about the violence and uncertainties in life that people encounter in a daily basis. It’s about losing someone so dear to you and this loss makes you empty inside. You lost your will to live, to talk, to laugh, you can’t think straight, even moving around seems impossible. All you can do is sit there, and stare at the emptiness and let the silence take you somewhere nonexistent. There’s just nothing but silence: “Today is, today is, today is quiet in my town, quiet in my town.”

“Today two boys disappeared without noise. And I wish that I was them; flying somewhere over head. Tonight in silence, two lovers they fight and one is bored, one is angry. But neither one of them is right.” When you lose someone you love, there comes denial. It’s hard to accept the fact that they’re gone forever, that you won’t be able to share laughs and cries with them, you won’t be able to touch them and feel their warmth anymore. And you’ll start to wish that you’re in a different place, different situation wherein there’s nothing but happiness. “Oh somebody say something. Somebody say something. Cause I can’t take this silence anymore” It’s like you’re living in a nightmare and you can’t wake up, you wanna break free from this silence but there’s nowhere to run. This song presents that grief in such a marvelous yet eerie way, and no matter how gloomy this song is, I just love it.

Title: You Could Be Happy

Artist: Snow Patrol

Album: Eyes Open

This Scottish band is one of my favorite bands ever! They propelled to international fame after their album Final Straw hit the billboards and soon after, they are recording magical hits such as Chasing Cars and Just say Yes. And now one of the saddest song ever created out of pure talent and lament, the song You Could Be Happy is just WOW. This song was featured in Smallville when Lara was married to Lex and O.M.G. the pain, people, the pain of our hero Clark is profound!!!! aaaawwwwwwww I cried during that episode actually. Every time I hear the intro in this song, my heart skips a beat. It’s like I’m holding my breath because it’s just so heartbreaking.. “You could be happy and I won’t know. But you weren’t happy the day I watched you go. And all the things that I wished I had not said are played in loops till it’s madness in my head.” See?? I told you!? It talks about the guy’s regret of letting his girl slip away and part ways with a heavy heart.

Is it too late to remind you how we were? But not our last days of silence, screaming, blur. Most of what I remember makes me sure. I should have stopped you from walking out the door.” When things aren’t exactly what you want them to be, you can’t help but go back in time when you’re both still blissful with hearts full of love. How you wish that you can go back to the beginning and erase all the haunting memories of parting. Yeah, at that moment you’re greatest regret is you didn’t stop her from walking out that door. “You could be happy, I hope you are. You made me happier than I’d been by far. Somehow everything I own smells of you and for the tiniest moment it’s all not true.” It’ll definitely drive you crazy! Especially when it’s just days after the breakup and it’s still fresh, hhoooowwwmmmmaaayyyggaaadddd!!!!! It’s like you can’t breathe inside your room, even your sheets and clothing smells of him, wherever you go it just reminds you that the both of you once have been there, and you feel a pinching in your heart when you see sweet couple on the street! Ay talaga naman! LOL

Though this song may be bursting with remorse but also with genuine love: “Do the things that you always wanted to. Without me there to hold you back; don’t think, just do. More than anything I want to see you, girl. Take a glorious bite out of the whole world.” True love for me is being selfless, he knows she won’t be happy staying with him but instead he’s setting her free and wishing for her to take a glorious bite of the world, follow her dreams, live her life to the fullest and do the things that would make her happy even if meant losing her in the end.

Title: A Falling Through

Artist: Ray Lamontagne

Album: Gossip in the Grain

The moment I heard this song I fell in love with Ray’s voice. I felt like I’m being serenaded by an angel with such a soothing and melodious voice, and the first thing that came to my mind was “Is this guy for real??” haha This singer-songwriter is such a talented human being; he plays the guitar, piano, harmonica and not to mention his addictive-oh-so-good voice. It just makes you wanna curl up in your loved one’s arms while listening to this song. (deep sigh…)

“Laid the blessings on the ground. Softening of sound draws us closed again. Stay, stay and watch the coals till they seize to glow like empty promises.” These are just deep and beautiful words, isn’t it?? The song is about a lost love or death of a loved one maybe, I’m not really sure but nonetheless this song is just S.A.D. And OH MY GOD the chorus??? “Why, why did you go? Why did you go away?” As simple as that, no other explanations needed but the melody is just haunting! It’ll haunt you! It’s like a knife has been stabbed in your chest upon hearing his voice full of emotions and I swear, if ever this would be sang to me I would definitely turn back and I’d shout “I’M HERE! I’M NOT GOING ANYWHERE!” lol :) “Don’t you care that it may seem unfair? (You steal things you ought to borrow) Don’t you find it may seem unkind? (I’d rather breathe than drown in sorrow)” Yes, it’s unfair when our loved ones left us and took everything away with them. You’re just lending them your heart and faith but all that they took away and left you with nothing but a big hole in your chest, despair and uncertainties on how to pick up the broken pieces.

I’m sorry, I couldn’t say much about the beauty of this song anymore! It’s crazy! I’m listening to it while writing about it and my head is just empty! haha So I suggest you just try listening to it and let the song speak to your heart :)

Cheers!

XoXo,

KC

45 thoughts on “Playlist #6

  1. Big fan .. of Snow Patrol .. they come from Belfast, lived there for 10 years … Chasing Cars is a brilliant song.
    The rest of you playlist I know nothing about. Have look into them over YouTube. Thanks .. for sharing.

  2. I simply want to say I’m beginner to weblog and really loved this page. Probably I’m want to bookmark your blog . You definitely come with outstanding articles and reviews. Thanks for sharing your blog site.

  3. I just want to tell you that I’m newbie to blogging and absolutely loved your web site. Probably I’m likely to bookmark your website . You actually come with awesome article content. Thanks a bunch for revealing your web-site.

    • Hey McKinley,,thank you for your sweet comment. You know music has been a big part of my life and through music, I learned how to express my feelings and thoughts. Good luck on your website!

  4. Having read this I believed it was really enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this information together.
    I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading
    and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

    • Thanks so much Davidoff! :) I like your screen name btw,, comments such as yours makes my heart grow fonder and inspired to write more about music and stuff. Thank you so much!

  5. I simply want to mention I am new to blogs and definitely savored you’re page. Probably I’m want to bookmark your website . You actually have impressive stories. With thanks for revealing your webpage.

  6. My brother recommended I would possibly like this web site.
    He used to be totally right. This post actually made my day.

    You cann’t consider simply how so much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  7. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Extremely useful information particularly the last part :) I care for such info much. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  8. It’s amazing to compensate a quick pop in this site and reading the views of all mates about this piece of writing, at the same time as I am too eager of getting familiarity.

  9. I have not checked in here for some time since I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are great quality so I guess I will add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend :)

  10. I feel this is among the such a lot important info for me.
    And i’m satisfied reading your article. However should remark on few basic things, The website taste is perfect, the articles is really great : D. Excellent process, cheers

Reply here! ^_^

